Friday, 2 October 2020

Cracked Anvil Flash Fiction Competition

Our BRAND NEW quarterly flash fiction competition is coming soon! The first competition will open on 1st September 2020, with the first deadline being 30th November 2020.

The competition is open to any theme or genre, and your story must be a maximum of 500 words (not including the title). Closing dates are:

28th (or 29th) February
31st May
31st August
30th November

You can enter up to two stories in each quarterly competition.

Entry fees: £3 for ONE story, or £5 for TWO stories

1st – £100
2nd – £25
both entries will also be published on our website

We may also publish a selection of highly commended entries on this website. Future anthologies will also be considered, published by Cranked Anvil Press, in which a selection of short- and long-listed stories from each competition will be published.

The results will be announced here (and in our social media) within six weeks of the closing dates.

Please ensure you read our rules for condition of entry.

Go to the entry page to pay your entry fee and enter the competition.

Good luck! – We look forward to reading your stories.

Thursday, 10 September 2020

The 2020 National Poetry Competition


The 2020 National Poetry Competition is now open for entries!  Start your entry by following this link.

2020 CRAFT Flash Fiction Contest


2020 CRAFT Flash Fiction Contest
Open: September 1 to November 1, 2020
Judged by Leesa Cross-Smith
Welcome back to our annual flash fiction contest for unpublished stories up to 1,000 words!
Guest judge Leesa Cross-Smith will select three winning stories and each winning writer will be awarded $1,000, publication, a bundle of the Rose Metal Press Field Guides, and more. We have an editors’ choice round, too!
Submit Here
Need a reminder to submit? Add us to your calendar with the button below:

Sunday, 30 August 2020

Saturday, 29 August 2020


Judged by Irish comedian Kevin Gildea

First Prize €500

Second Prize €600

Third Prize €1,000

Liberties Press, in conjunction with Irish Pensions & Finance, are delighted to announce the launch of their Humorous Short Story Competition for 2020.

​We’re looking for your funniest original story, real or imagined, from Graham Norton’s red chair to Waiting for Godot - and all points in between. We don’t mind how irreverent or inappropriate you are but there are other rules:

You must be over 16 years of age
You must be an Irish citizen or long-term resident of Ireland
The closing date for submissions is 31st August 2020
Maximum 1500 words per entry
One entry per person
The judges' decision is final
Entry is FREE, so whether you are a published writer who wants to demonstrate their range, an unpublished writer who wants to prove they’re every bit as good as a published one, or simply a chancer looking to make a few bob..…send in that story and give us a laugh; we could do with it.

Entries will be judged by Irish comedian Kevin Gildea and the top ten stories will be published in an Anthology, to be launched early 2021.

Please don’t use real people’s names or copy their stories as they’re liable to get shirty; litigious even.


The MOTH Nature Writing Contest


Wordsmiths Competition 2020

‘Wordsmiths’ is set to be an annual writing competition of a different nature. The format has been thrown wide open to give a level-playing field for beginners and veterans alike. Rather than a specific theme entrants are asked to create or rework an existing piece from a certain perspective. This year, the opening year, quite aptly we ask writers to apply themselves in words as a jeweler would in gold. In the right hands words are more precious and that’s what we seek to find.

The winner will receive €550 and all shortlisted entries will have a personal critique prepared and sent to them privately. The winning piece will also be published on our webpage. The entry fee is €11. We accept multiple entries and the winner will also have their entry fee refunded.

The style, genre and format is up to the writer. We set no limits on length or presentation and allow combinations of prose and poetry as well as dialectic and colloquial speech patterns, unusual grammatical formulation and anastrophe. This was in response to protests of rigid rules in an era of restrictions.

Entries must be sent digitally to along with payment via PayPal to the same email address. Clearly photographed handwritten work is also acceptable. For full details of rules and conditions see

Judges are set to be:

Michael O’Hanlon, Poet and Author of ‘Free Spirits’

Raymond Cummings, Senior Lecturer in English Literature at St. Mary’s University College

Melanie Patrick, Staff Writer for The Lamp Theatre

Deadline for submissions is: 12 pm on November 15th 2020

Shortlisted entrants will be notified by: December 30th 2020

Winner will be announced on: February 1st 2021

Terms and Conditions

• Contestants may submit work in the English language (no other) on any subject and in any style, genre or presentation form

• Prose, poetry or a combination of the two are among the perfectly acceptable forms

• Work will be judged anonymously so the entrants name or details should not appear anywhere in the manuscript

• Entries are to contain a minimum of 1 word (no half words please) and there is no upper limit. Entries not adhering to this rule will be disqualified and contestants banned

• All entries must be submitted digitally to email address:

• Entrants are asked to put ‘WORD 2020’ as the email subject and provide their FULL name, postal address, telephone number and brief bio (2-3 sentences) in the body of the email. Manuscript to be attached

• Clearly photographed handwritten work is acceptable (but no selfies please)

• The entry fee is £10 GBP. Please send via PayPal to

• Deadline for submission is 15th Nov 2020

• Shortlisted contestants will be notified by 30th December and the winner will be announced by 1st February 2021

• All shortlisted entries will receive feedback

— — — — and just in case — — — —

• By submitting you agree to all the rules

• Entry fees will be only be refunded for the winner. If the winning contestant has submitted more than one entry they will be refunded for all entries

• Excessively graphic or offensive content will result in the piece being disqualified

• The winning piece may be subject to minor editing or correction before publication on the webpage

• Rules are subject to change if necessary

• Judges are considered capable of impartiality and contestants may not appeal their decisions (even if the same work has also been nominated for the Nobel Prize)