Friday, 7 March 2014

Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction 2014


The judges for the 2014 Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction have been confirmed as:

Helen Fraser, (Chair), Chief Executive of the Girls’ Day School Trust and formerly managing director of Penguin Books UK

Mary Beard, Professor of Classics at the University of Cambridge

Denise Mina, Writer

Caitlin Moran, Times columnist, Author and Screenwriter

Sophie Raworth, BBC Broadcaster and Journalist

The Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction 2014

Now in its 20th year, the Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction was set up to celebrate excellence, originality and accessibility in writing by women throughout the world. Known from 1996 to 2012 as the Orange Prize for Fiction and in 2013 as the Women’s Prize for Fiction, it is the UK's most prestigious annual book award for fiction written by a woman and also provides a range of educational, literacy or research initiatives to support reading and writing.

The Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction 2014 is awarded annually for the best full novel of the year written by a woman and published in the UK. Any woman writing in English - whatever her nationality, country of residence, age or subject matter - is eligible.

For further information on how to enter, please see our Terms and Conditions of Entry. For general queries or further questions please contact

The winner receives a cheque for £30,000 and a limited edition bronze figurine known as a 'Bessie', created and donated by the artist Grizel Niven. Last year’s winner, awarded on 5 June at the Royal Festival Hall, London, was A M Homes for her novel May We Be Forgiven (Granta).

Visit the Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction website or download the entry form here

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please feel free to leave a message.

Keats-Shelley Prize

THE ANNUAL POETRY PRIZE FOR SCHOOL CHILDREN IN ROME CELEBRATES ITS 28TH YEAR The Keats-Shelley House is proud to present the twenty-eighth a...