Friday, 7 March 2014

Cinnamon Press Writing Awards 2013/14 - Deadline: Tue 30 Sept 2014

Are you looking to establish your profile as a writer? Then Cinnamon Press has a range of competitions to help you establish a writing profile, including awards for poets, story writers and novelists and a rolling programme of mini competitions

Cinnamon Press has a range of competitions to help writers establish a writing profile, including all new major awards for poets (with categories for single poem, debut collection and pamphlets), story writers and novelists and a rolling programme of mini competitions. Scroll down to find out more about the competitions and the exciting opportunities they give to writers.

The Mini Competitions are a great way to showcase your work with us.

The ‘Heat’ Competition has just ended and we are pleased to announce the winners are Connie Bott and Derek Sellen. You can read the winning entries and the superb runner up pieces here

The new mini competition is for pieces in any genre up to 500 words on the them of CHANGES and can be entered here


We’ve given our main competitions a fresh new approach with even more opportunities thanks to an incredibly generous donation, which has opened up the possibility of adding new categories, with fabulous prizes and outstanding adjudicators. Click on the title of each of the competitions for full details and to enter.

You can submit to the new competitions any time from now to the deadline of each category and the next deadline is 30 November for the Debut Poetry Collection Prize adjudicated by Helen Ivory and Martin Figura.

Debut Poetry Collection Prize
This category keeps the closing date of November 30 2013
Prize of £500 + a publishing contract & up to 25 runners up published in a poetry anthology.
The fee is £12 fee and the competition will be judged by Helen Ivory & Martin Figura.
Open to those who have not had a full collection published.

Poetry Pamphlet Prizes
We have a brand new annual for pamphlets, opening to all poets.
There will be 4 prizes of £150 each + publishing contracts for each of the four winners judged by Ian Gregson.
The fee is £10.
Open to all writers – published and beginners.
Closing on March 31 2014,

Annual Short Story Prize
The date for the short story moves to May 31 2014.
New prizes of £700, £150 & £50 + publication of the winners and up to 10 runners’ up stories.
There is a £12 fee and the judge is Vanessa Gebbie.
Open to all writers – published and beginners.

Annual Debut Novel (or Novella) Prize
The final category in the year will be have a closing date of July 31 2014
£1000 first prize plus publishing contract.
The fee is £12 and the judge is Stephen May.
Open to those who have not had a previous novel published.

Single Poem Prize
There are prizes of £1000, £250 & £50 + publication.
The competition will be judged by Mario Petrucci
It’s £4 for 1 poem, £10 for 3 poems. Open to all writers – published and beginners.
Deadline 30 September 2014
Future Prizes
Next year’s debut poetry collection prizes will be judged by Matthew Francis and we will let you know more about other future categories in due course so do check back regularly.

With award-winning writers judging your work; new anthologies dedicated to all-poetry or all-stories; bigger prizes; more publishing contracts and two new categories (single poem and pamphlets) we hope to increase the opportunities for both new and established writers.

You can find out more about the new competitions and how to enter by clicking on the category headers above.

General Guidelines (please click on the category headers for specific fees, dates and full rules for each genre)
Entrants for the novel/novella and poetry collection categories should not previously have had a novel/novella or full poetry collection published (single poem, pamphlets and story genres are open to all writers, both new and established).
Entries should be submitted electronically if possible, but we will also accept hard copy – send as two email attachments – one with the work and the other with contact details – please ensure you have up to date virus protection and send as a .doc or .docx or .rtf file. (If you have problems preventing electronic submission please email for guidance) or send your work by post without your name on it and add a cover sheet with full details including the name of your work.
Submit up to 6 poems of up to 50 lines each (single poem); 10 poems up to 40 lines (unpublished); 15-25 poems of up to 50 lines each (pamphlet); the first ten thousand words of your novel/novella or a story of 2,000-4,000 words (unpublished) in a clear type script, double spaced for prose.
Please mark your story/poetry/novel/la with a nom de plume and working title in the header (this is simply for reading purposes to guarantee that all pieces are read blind and judged fairly)
Do not put any other identification on the work, but enclose a separate attachment with name, address, email contact & nom de plume and titles of poems/working title of novel/story title.
Deadlines fall throughout the year between 30 September and 31 July, depending on genre – please check the individual pages.
Entry is £4 for single poems (£10 for 3) or £10 for the pamphlet prize or £12 per entry for novels, stories, and full poetry collections. You can optionally add £4 to this to include a copy of the winners’ anthology for the poetry collection and short story categories, or a novel/la by a previous competition winner for the novel/la category (worth £8.99) or one of the winning pamphlets.
Payments can be made online at using PayPal or sent direct to via PayPal or by cheque made to ‘cinnamon press’. You will find a payment button on each of the individual category pages.
Work will not be returned, so please keep a copy.
Contact details: Cinnamon Press New Writing Prizes, Meirion House, Glan yr afon, Tanygrisiau, Blaenau Ffestiniog, Gwynedd, LL41 3SU or email to
Results will be sent individually to all winners and runners up; published on the Cinnamon website and included in the newsletter.
All enquiries:

No comments:

Post a comment

Please feel free to leave a message.


Spread the Word is delighted to announce that Damian Barr, Catherine Cho and Frances Wilson are the judges for the Life Writing Prize 2021....