Monday, 31 March 2014

Kay Snow Awards

The purpose of this annual writing contest, named in honor of Willamette Writer's founder, Kay Snow, is to help writers reach professional goals in writing in a broad array of categories and to encourage student writers.

This annual writing contest awards one first prize of $300, one second place prize of $150, and a third place prize of $50 per winning entry in each of the six categories; fiction, nonfiction, juvenile, poetry, student writer and screenwriting. Student writers are awarded $50 for first place in three grade divisions, $20 for second place, and $10 for third place.

Find out more by reading the Kay Snow Contest Guidelines. A printer-friendly registration form link is available at the end of the guidelines. The deadline for the next contest is April 23rd, 2014.

Entries can be submitted online this year, but all guidelines for e-submissions must be followed. Go to the printer-friendly Kay Snow Awards entry form.

Winners of the Kay Snow contest are invited to an awards banquet at the annual Willamette Writers Conference held August 1st-3rd, 2014. The Awards banquet is August 2nd. The conference offers a variety of workshops, opportunities to meet agents, editors and film producers, and many resources for writers.

Winners in the Screenwriting category will have their scripts featured on theScreenwriting Showcase for a year.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please feel free to leave a message.

Anthology Poetry Award

Entries are now invited for the Anthology Poetry Award. Established to recognise and encourage excellence in the craft of poetry writing a...