Monday, 24 March 2014

Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize

A prize of $25,000 will be awarded to the novel or short-story collection published between October 1, 2013 and September 30, 2014 that, in the opinion of the jurors, is the year’s best book of fiction. The jurors will shortlist between three and five titles. Prizes of $2,500 will be awarded to each of the finalists.
Eligibility Criteria

Titles must be published in Canada between October 1, 2013 and September 30, 2014. Books that are not yet in final published form by the deadline of July 30, 2014 may be submitted as bound galleys.

Books must be English-language, first-edition trade books published by a Canadian press, written by Canadian citizens or permanent residents of Canada. Previous publication in another country does not disqualify a book.

Translations from other languages into English are eligible and will be considered in the year in which the English translation is published. In the event of a translation winning the prize, the prize money will be divided as follows: $18,750 to the author, $6,250 to the translator.

To be eligible publishing houses must have a professional editorial process independent from the authors whose books are submitted for consideration. They must not charge authors for publishing their works.

All books must have an ISBN number and be available in Canadian bookstores.

Titles may be single-authored or co-authored. Multi-authored collections, anthologies, and conference proceedings are not eligible.

Self-published books are not eligible.

Ghostwritten books are not eligible.

No more than 20% of the manuscript can be previously published in book form.

Books whose author was deceased at the time of publication are not eligible.

Publishers should note that the prize is for literary excellence and therefore they should only submit books they deem outstanding in this regard. Check website for details.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please feel free to leave a message.

Anthology Poetry Award

Entries are now invited for the Anthology Poetry Award. Established to recognise and encourage excellence in the craft of poetry writing a...