Friday, 7 March 2014

V.S. Pritchett Memorial Prize 2014

The Royal Society of Literature's annual prize of £1,000, for the best unpublished short story of the year. The winning entry is also published in Prospectonline and the RSL Review.

'The short story, my father once wrote, is "exquisitely difficult". For the author, that is. All the same, I hope that many, many people will enter this competition in his memory. And if they want encouragement and inspiration they may find it in one of his own short stories. There are so many to choose from, but I would particularly recommend “The Evils of Spain”, one of my favourites, from the very beginning of his amazingly long writing career, or the wonderful “Cocky Olly”, written more than half a century later.’

Oliver Pritchett
This prize was founded by the RSL at the beginning of the new millennium to commemorate the centenary of an author widely regarded as the finest English short-story writer of the 20th century, and to preserve a tradition encompassing Pritchett’s mastery of narrative.
The 2014 Prize

The Royal Society of Literature is delighted to announce the sixteenth V.S. Pritchett Memorial Prize. There is a prize of £1,000, and the winning entry will be published in Prospect online and in the RSL Review. In addition to this, there will be an opportunity to appear at an RSL event with established short story writers in autumn 2014.

The judges this year are Margaret Drabble, Tibor Fischer and Helen Oyeyemi.

This year we are pleased to accept online entries for the first time. Please visit our online entry site for full details of entry and to submit:

Alternatively we will also accept hard copies sent to:
VSP, The Royal Society of Literature
Somerset House, Strand
London, WC2R 1LA
Postal entries must be accompanied by a completed entry form (which also contains full rules and eligability criteria) downloadable from the bottom of this page.

The closing date for entries is Monday 16 June 2014.
We are grateful to Christopher and Jennie Bland for sponsoring the prize, to ALCS for making the prize-giving event possible, and to Prospect magazine for publishing the winning entry online.

The 2013 Prize

The judges of the 2013 V.S. Pritchett Memorial Prize, Adam Foulds, Jackie Kay and Helen Simpson, selected Peter Adamson as the winner, for his story Sahel. The runner- up was Rowena Macdonald for Stars.
Peter received his award of £1,000 at the Irish Embassy at an event with Roddy Doyle on Monday 28 November 2013.
For more information about the 2013 winner and runners-up, please download the press release at the bottom of the page.
Click here to read the winning story, Sahel, published online by Prospect magazine.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please feel free to leave a message.