Monday, 14 April 2014

The Benjamin Franklin House Literary Prize

Benjamin Franklin is one of history’s great figures. While he made lasting contributions in many fields, his first passion was writing. He believed in the power of the written word as the bedrock of a democratic society, to inform, and stimulate debate .

Each year a question or quote exploring Franklin’s relevance in our time is open for interpretation in 1000-1500 words. The competition is exclusively for young writers, aged 18-25, with a first prize of £750, and a second prize of £500. Winning entries will be posted here and also published online by media partner, The Telegraph.

The Benjamin Franklin House Literary Prize is endowed by Benjamin Franklin House Chairman John Studzinski, a leading executive and philanthropist.

Details about the 2014 Benjamin Franklin House Literary Prize will be available in the Spring.

Literary Prize Judges

Marcia Balisciano, Director of Benjamin Franklin House
Lord Guy Black, Executive Director of the Telegraph Media Group
David Hawkins, Committee Chair of Benjamin Franklin House
Lady Joan Reid, Former Board Member of Benjamin Franklin House
Rory Sutherland, Board Member of Benjamin Franklin House
Andrea Wulf, author of 'The Founding Gardeners' 2011

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please feel free to leave a message.

Anthology Poetry Award

Entries are now invited for the Anthology Poetry Award. Established to recognise and encourage excellence in the craft of poetry writing a...