Wednesday, 2 April 2014

The Frogmore Poetry Prize

The Frogmore Poetry Prize (sponsored by the Frogmore Foundation) was founded in 1987 and has been awarded annually since then. The Prize money is currently two hundred guineas but the true Prize is the kudos of joining a select band of winners which includes Caroline Price, John Latham, Tobias Hill and Mario Petrucci. Many leading poets - Carole Satyamurti, Pauline Stainer, Linda France, Paul Groves, John Mole, Sophie Hannah, Elizabeth Bartlett and Susan Wicks among them - have adjudicated the Prize and all winners have been published in the pages of The Frogmore Papers.

In addition, a selection of winning and shortlisted poems from the first ten years of the Prize was published in the Crabflower Pamphlet Decade (1996), edited by Jeremy Page and Kate Pemberton.

The Frogmore Papers

21 Mildmay Road


East Sussex


Editor: Jeremy Page

Submission guidelines

4 - 6 poems is usually enough; or a couple of pieces of prose (short stories, novel extracts).

It helps if you've seen the magazine and know the sort of work we tend to favour.

Very long poems and very short poems have more to do than poems of an average length (say, 20 -80 lines).

We're unlikely to have room for very long short stories. 2,000 words is generally plenty.

Poems where the form drives the meaning are unlikely to find favour.

Poems written by people who clearly haven't read any poetry since Wordsworth will not find favour.

Prose may be experimental or traditional, but is unlikely to be accepted if it's either very experimental or very traditional.

We only appear twice a year and, having been around a while, receive a very large number of submissions. You may need to try us more than once.

Please be patient when awaiting a reply.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please feel free to leave a message.

Anthology Poetry Award

Entries are now invited for the Anthology Poetry Award. Established to recognise and encourage excellence in the craft of poetry writing a...