Sunday 25 May 2014

2014 City of Fremantle T.A.G. Hungerford Award - Deadline Monday 30 th June 2014

Presented in partnership with

writingWA, Fremantle Press,

& The West Australian

The City of Fremantle T.A.G. Hungerford Award is dedicated to recognising and nurturing

emerging voices in Western Australian literature. It is a biennial award that celebrates

literary merit and originality, and is given for a full-length manuscript of fiction or creative

non-fiction by a Western Australian author previously unpublished in book form. Previous

recipients of the T.A.G. Hungerford Award include Gail Jones, Brenda Walker and Alice


The 2014 Award winner will receive a $12,000 cash prize from The City of Fremantle, and a

publishing contract from Fremantle Press.

Conditions and General Information

1. The Award is made for an unpublished work of literary fiction or creative non-fiction by

a Western Australian author not previously published in book form.

2. Unpublished original manuscripts only, of at least 50,000 words, may be entered for the


3. Authors whose work has only previously been self-published are eligible to enter,

though the manuscript entered in this competition may not have been published in any


4. The manuscripts must be in English and may be a novel, novella, collection of short

fiction, or a work of creative non-fiction (SEE NOTE BELOW).

5. The Award excludes fiction in the genre categories of romance, science fiction, and


6. The Award is open to writers whose normal place of residence is Western Australia. If

requested, proof of eligibility is the responsibility of the entrant. Where necessary, final

arbitration will be at the sole discretion of the judges.

7. Manuscripts of joint authorship are NOT eligible to be entered.

8. A maximum of one entry per person may be submitted.

9. All nominations must be made on the official entry form, which is Page 4 of this 
document (a photocopy may be used) and accompanied by an entry fee of $25.00. 
Cheques or money orders ONLY should be made payable to writingWA. 
10. Manuscripts entered must be typed and legibly double-spaced, on one side of the page 
only, and securely bound (SEE NOTE BELOW), with title and author’s pseudonym 
included on the title page only. DO NOT INCLUDE THE AUTHOR’S REAL NAME 
11. Manuscripts will NOT be accepted in electronic form. 
12. Manuscripts submitted to the Award will not be returned. 
13. Previous submissions to Fremantle Press which have received editorial comment from 
the Press are not eligible for entry. 
14. The judges reserve the right to exclude from consideration any work that does not 
comply with these conditions. 
15. The judges will not be required to make an award if they do not consider the entries to 
be of sufficient standard. 
16. The decision of the judges is final and no correspondence will be entered into. 
17. Lobbying of the judges by an entrant will result in the entrant’s disqualification. 
18. The winner of the 2014 Award will be announced in February 2015. 
19. Closing date for entries is 5pm, Monday 30 June 2014. Entries postmarked or delivered 
after this time will not be accepted. 
Entries may be lodged by post or delivered to: 
2014 City of Fremantle T.A.G. Hungerford Award 
Alexander Library Building 
Perth Cultural Centre WA 6000 

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please feel free to leave a message.

Anthology Poetry Award

Entries are now invited for the Anthology Poetry Award. Established to recognise and encourage excellence in the craft of poetry writing a...