Saturday, 17 May 2014


Under the auspices of the African Poetry Book Fund and in partnership with the literary journal, Prairie Schooner, is an annual award of USD $5,000. Named for the literary philanthropist Glenna Luschei, this Pan African Poetry Prize is the only one of its kind in the world and was established to promote African poetry written in English or in translation and to recognize a significant book published each year by an African poet.

Each year, the prize will be judged by an internationally renowned poet. This judge for the inaugural prize is Nigerian poet and novelist Chris Abani.


The African Poetry Book Fund will award the winning poet $5,000.

Books must be submitted in the year after their publication, which means that books published in 2013 must be submitted for consideration between May 1 and July 1, 2014.
The 2014 contest is open to any book of original poetry, in English, published during 2013 in a standard edition by a full-length collection of poetry written by any African national, African resident, or poet of African parentage with roots from any country, living anywhere in the world. A standard edition is 48 pages or more in length.
Books of translation are welcome and eligible for consideration for the prize.
Self-published books are not eligible.

Books published by the African Poetry Book Fund will not be eligible for consideration.


Manuscripts are accepted annually between May 1st and July 1st.

Publishers may submit as many titles as they wish. The publisher should send four copies of each book to the APBF, postmarked between May 1 and July 1, 2014.
Uncorrected galleys and PDF galleys of books will be considered as long as the publication date falls within the period of eligibility.

Please send four copies of each entry to the following address, postmarked between May 1 and July 1, 2014:

The Glenna Luschei Poetry Prize
The African Poetry Book Fund
Prairie Schooner
123 Andrews Hall
University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Lincoln, NE 68588-0334

Books will not be returned.

There is no entry fee but an entry form is required for each title submitted.

Download the Entry Form.


The winner is announced early October on the African Poetry Book Fund website. Results will be emailed shortly thereafter.

Please send any questions to

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please feel free to leave a message.

Anthology Poetry Award

Entries are now invited for the Anthology Poetry Award. Established to recognise and encourage excellence in the craft of poetry writing a...