Thursday 8 May 2014


Howling Bird Press, welcomes submissions of poetry for a 2014 national literary award. $1,000 prize, plus publication of book and 25 copies. Submit manuscript of 60 to 80 pages, along with $25 entry fee. Submission period April 15 to June 30. Publishing mentor John Gaterud, MFA students, and faculty will judge.
Contest Guidelines

Howling Bird Press, the new publishing house of the Augsburg College MFA in Creative Writing Program, welcomes submissions for a national literary prize in poetry. We seek unique works by singular voices.

Poems must be original and written in English (no translations, please). Poems may have previously appeared in magazines, anthologies, or chapbooks. No illustrations or artwork; text only.

The winning poet will receive $1,000 and publication of his/her book in Summer 2015, plus 25 copies. A book-launch event, including public reading for the author, will be held in Minneapolis.

Augsburg MFA Publishing Concentration students and faculty will serve as contest judges. All entries will be judged blind.
Submission period: April 15–June 30, 2014

Manuscripts must be between 60 and 80 pages in length, and submitted ONLINE, along with $25 entry fee, to:

Submission format: Word documents (.doc, .docx, .rtf or .txt) and PDFs are acceptable. Be sure each new poem starts on a new page. No hard-copy submissions. Simultaneous submissions are acceptable; please advise us if accepted elsewhere.

Manuscript prep: Include cover/title sheet with your name, address, and contact information, including email and phone, along with table of contents for the manuscript. A brief biography is optional. An acknowledgments pages listing publication history may be included. However, avoid putting your name on the manuscript pages themselves.

Howling Bird Press reserves the right to reject any manuscript for any reason.

Submit your manuscript here.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please feel free to leave a message.

Anthology Poetry Award

Entries are now invited for the Anthology Poetry Award. Established to recognise and encourage excellence in the craft of poetry writing a...