Wednesday, 21 May 2014

Jordan Schnitzer Book Awards - Deadline June 18, 2014.

Jordan Schnitzer Book Awards

Launched in 2008, the AJS awarded two $5,000 Jordan Schnitzer Book Awards on an annual basis. Since 2012, the AJS has recognized books in three subject areas per year, for a total of nine categories over a three-year cycle. 

The categories are:

Philosophy and Jewish Thought
Biblical Studies, Rabbinics, and Jewish History and Culture in Antiquity
Jewish Literature and Linguistics
Medieval and Early Modern Jewish History
Modern Jewish History—European Countries
Modern Jewish History—Americas, Africa, Asia, and Oceania
Social Science, Anthropology, and Folklore
Jews and the Arts (visual, performance, music)
Cultural Studies and Media Studies

2014 Submission Categories

Books in any of the following fields are eligible for consideration:
Jewish Literature and Linguistics
Medieval and Early Modern Jewish History
Modern Jewish History – European Countries

Only AJS members in good standing may submit their books for consideration or be nominated for consideration by a third party (publisher, etc.). Any book published in English from 2011 – 2014 is eligible for the 2014 Schnitzer Prize. Translations, edited works, and reference works are eligible for submission, as long as the book's translator/editor meets the submission requirements (AJS member, book published within past four years, etc). A book may be submitted up to two times within a three-year cycle. Scholars at all stages of their careers are eligible to apply. A committee of scholars who represent excellence in the year's designated fields will serve as judges. Scholars may submit their book to more than one category, but no book may be awarded the prize in more than one category, whether in the same year or in any subsequent year.

Recipients of the Jordan Schnitzer Book Awards will be recognized at a reception held each year in their honor at the AJS conference; the award will also be announced in AJS publications and other professional and national media.

2014 Schnitzer Book Award Submission Instructions

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please feel free to leave a message.

Anthology Poetry Award

Entries are now invited for the Anthology Poetry Award. Established to recognise and encourage excellence in the craft of poetry writing a...