Tuesday 27 May 2014

The CARMEL BIRD Award 2014 — Long Story Competition

udged by Michael McGirr

First prize: $500

Open Theme

4,000 – 10,000 words.

Entry fee: $20

Winning and shortlisted entrants will be considered for inclusion in the SPINELESSWONDERS Michael McGirr Selects eSingles series.

Closing date: 31 August 2014

To view and download entry form, click  here.

Judge : Michael McGirr

Terms and Conditions of Entry

1. Entries must be from 4,000 – 10,000 words in length.

2. Entries must be sent in hard copy. No electronic entries will be accepted. Entries must be printed on one side only, using 1.5 line spacing and 12 pt font size. Each page must be numbered and include the story title but not author name.

3. Stories under consideration by another competition or publication or previously published or awarded, at a national level, will not be accepted.

4. Entries will be judged anonymously. The author’s name must not appear on the manuscript.

5. The judge’s decision will be final. No correspondence will be entered into.

6. Entrants must be over 18 years of age.

7. Entrants must be either Australian citizens (living anywhere), or permanent residents of Australia.

8. Entry fee is $20.00. Multiple entries are acceptable. Payment can be made electronically on our Products page using a credit card or Paypal via our website, OR by cheque or money order made out to Spineless Wonders and mailed along with entries.

9. Each individual entry must be accompanied by an Entry Form. To view and print out an entry form, click here.

10. Mail entries to:

Carmel Bird Long Story Competition
PO Box 220
NSW 2012

11. Entries must be postmarked 31 August, 2014 or earlier. Late entries will not be accepted.

12. Shortlisted entries will be notified no later than February, 2015. Results will be announced via this website by March, 2015.

13. The winning and shortlisted stories will be considered for publication in electronic form by SPINELESSWONDERS as part of its Michael McGirr Selectsseries*. All entries, including the winning stories, may be edited for publication.

About the eSingles series

SPINELESS WONDERS eSingles are available in ebook and PDF formats. Proceeds of the e-story series sales will go directly to authors, excluding a minimal percentage to cover administration costs. Further details regarding issues such as copyright, distribution etc are included in the publisher-author contractual agreement.

*The Michael McGirr Selects will be the second in our long stories series. To find out more, go to The Amanda Lohrey Selects series.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please feel free to leave a message.

Anthology Poetry Award

Entries are now invited for the Anthology Poetry Award. Established to recognise and encourage excellence in the craft of poetry writing a...