Sunday 25 May 2014

The Joe O'Sullivan Writers' Prize - Topic: “Looking Back” - Deadline 30th June 2014

Sponsored by The Australian Irish Heritage Association

First Prize: $1000

The Joe O’Sullivan Writers’ Prize honouring the memory of the Organisation’s late founder,

First Prize $1,000,

limit of 2,000 to 4,000 words

- prose, fact or fiction. Open to residents of WA only

Topic: “Looking Back”.

Entrance Fee $10.

Closing Date 30 June 2014

Rules of entry

Winning entries may be published in the Association's magazine The Journal and its website. The prize money will be deemed to include a fee for publication. Copyright remains with the author.

Entries must be the entrant's original work, not previously published, broadcast or awarded a literary prize.

Work submitted must be a copy of the original work (the original should be retained by the entrant). Entries will not be returned.

The work must be in ENGLISH. The Macquarie Dictionary is the spelling standard

The work must be typed, double spaced, on one side only of A4 with 2cm margins.

Each page is to be numbered, bear the title of the entry and be stapled together at the top left-hand corner only. The real name of the entrant must NOT appear on the manuscript.


A completed entry form must accompany each entry.

The Judges' decision will be final. Any attempt to communicate with a Judge will result in disqualification.

There is no limit to the number of entries, but each one must be accompanied by a fee of $10 AUD,

Entries should be posted to

Writers' Prize

Australian Irish Heritage Association

PO Box 1583

Subiaco WA 6904

Late entries will not be considered.

The competition is only open to residents of Western Australia.

Competitors wishing a list of prize winners should enclose a stamped, self – addressed envelope, or visit our web site at

Click here for entry form in Word

Click here for entry form in pdf format

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please feel free to leave a message.

Anthology Poetry Award

Entries are now invited for the Anthology Poetry Award. Established to recognise and encourage excellence in the craft of poetry writing a...