Saturday 31 May 2014

The Noosa Arts Theatre National One-Act Playwriting Competition 2015! - Deadline October 1 st, 2014

Offering a total prize pool of $6,000 AUD cash and a publishing contract.


1st place $3,000
2nd place $2,000
3rd place $1,000.

The winner of the Nancy Cato Audience Choice Award wins a cash prize donated by the family of the late Nancy Cato.

The Noosa Arts Theatre National One-Act Playwriting Competition attracts entries from playwrights across Australia, New Zealand, the UK and USA.

This playwriting competition offers a unique opportunity for the three finalist playwrights to see their new work performed on stage at the Noosa Arts Theatre One-Act Play Festival, for a 11 performance season over 3 weeks in July as part of the Noosa Longweekend 10 day cultural festival - fast becoming one of the nations top cultural festivals.

Scripts are judged anonymously by a local panel to prepare a shortlist; the shortlisted scripts are sent to a professional panel of 3 industry experts, who will also judge the scripts anonymously, give written assessments which are sent to the playwrights, and decide the 3 finalists.

During the Festival, the audience is asked at each performance to vote for the ‘Nancy Cato Audience Choice Award'.

Presentations of Awards take place after the final performance.

Titles such as Michael Olsen's Two Women and a Chair (winner in 2001) are top sellers both here, in NZ and the UK, and Jane Tara's Bombshells (winner in 2000) went on to an acclaimed production in New York. Cerise de Gelder, winner in 2006 with her comedy Man of Snow, has gone on to become one of Melbourne's hottest playwrights.

Entries close, October 1, 2014


CLICK HERE to Download the ENTRY FORM & RULES in Word.

NOTE: This competition is not restricted to Australian residents.
Payment options include electronic funds transfer and PayPal, please contact the convenor if you wish to use these facilities.

For more information, please email or phone 61 (0)7 5449 9343.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please feel free to leave a message.

Anthology Poetry Award

Entries are now invited for the Anthology Poetry Award. Established to recognise and encourage excellence in the craft of poetry writing a...