Friday, 16 May 2014

The Announces It's Sponsorship of Bord Gaís Short Story of the Year Award 2014

The Short Story category in the prestigious Bord Gais Energy Irish Book Awards, the Short Story of the Year Award, is open to short stories of up to 7000 words published between 1st Nov 2013 and 31st October 2014 in any of the following contexts: a collection of short stories by a single author; an anthology of short stories; or an established journal or magazine, digital or print, that has been in existence for at least six months within the period of eligibility.

Stories must be original fiction, i.e. neither a reprint nor adaptation of a previously-published work, and all stories must have been or will be published in English or Irish during the qualifying period. Stories published in Irish must be supplied with an English translation.

The author must be Irish by birth, citizenship or long-term residence.

Please read the full Terms and Conditions here.

Submissions will be judged anonymously, the long list read by an independent panel of four judges: last year’s winner, author Billy O’Callaghan; Director of Dublin City of Literature Jane Alger; and literary agent Simon Trewin, Partner and Head of Literary at WME London, plus’s Irish editor Cathal Póirtéir.

To submit a story, please click here.

The judging panel will select the final four stories to be shortlisted for the Short Story of the Year Award. The winner will be announced at the Bord Gais Energy Irish Book Awards on 26th November 2014. For more information about the awards check out:

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please feel free to leave a message.

Anthology Poetry Award

Entries are now invited for the Anthology Poetry Award. Established to recognise and encourage excellence in the craft of poetry writing a...