Saturday 24 May 2014

Towson Prize for Literature -Deadline 15th June 2014

The Alice and Franklin Cooley Endowment

Established in 1979 with a grant from Alice and Franklin Cooley, the Towson University Prize for Literature is awarded annually for a single book or book-length manuscript of fiction, poetry, drama or imaginative non-fiction by a Maryland writer. The $1,000 prize is granted on the basis of literary and aesthetic excellence as determined by a panel of distinguished judges appointed by the university. The first award, made in the fall of 1980, went to novelist Anne Tyler.

Dr. Franklin Cooley was a noted medievalist and bibliophile. A native Marylander, he was associated with the University of Maryland and Johns Hopkins University, both as a student and a teacher, over a period of 40 years. He earned his bachelor's and doctoral degrees at Hopkins and his master's at Maryland. Except for a three-year period of teaching at Hopkins during the course of his doctoral studies, he spent most of his career specializing in medieval literature at Maryland, where he was named professor emeritus upon his retirement. Dr. Cooley died in 1989; Alice Cooley died in 1997.

Dr. Franklin and Mrs. Alice Cooley have been benefactors of Towson University since 1974. They established an endowment for the acquisition and care of books, journals and records in 20th century English and American poetry, and donated their extensive collection of modern poetry to the university's Cook Library. They also established an endowed scholarship for the fine arts and con­tributed generously to the College of Liberal Arts Endowment. The Towson University Prize for Literature is a gift designed to enhance the knowledge and appreciation of contemporary literature.


The prize shall be awarded on the basis of aesthetic and literary excellence for a single book or book-length manuscript of fiction, poetry, drama or imaginative non-fiction.

The work must have been published within the three years prior to the year of nomina­tion or must be scheduled for publication within the year in which nominated. Self-published works will not be considered.

The author must have resided within the State of Maryland at least three years at the time of nomination and must be a resident of the State of Maryland at the time the prize is awarded. Verification of residence may be required.

The winning author must grant to Towson University the right to quote from the winning work in any publicity related to the prize.

Any individual, institution, group or publisher may nominate one or more works for the prize.

Panel of Judges

Organized by the English Department, Towson University

Click here to complete and print Nomination Form

Mailing of Entry

The applicant must submit three copies of each work, in bound form if it has been published and in typewritten, double-spaced manuscript form, if not. If a manuscript is submitted, a copy of the contract or the letter of acceptance from the publisher indicating the proposed date of publication must be enclosed.

A completed nomination form must accompany each submission of three copies.

All submissions become the property of Towson University and will not be returned.

The deadline for submission of all materials is June 15.

Dr. George Hahn, Chair

Department of English

Towson University

Towson, MD 21252-0001

Towson University is in compliance with federal and state laws and regulations that prohibit illegal discrimination. The university does not discriminate on the basis of sexual orientation.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please feel free to leave a message.

Anthology Poetry Award

Entries are now invited for the Anthology Poetry Award. Established to recognise and encourage excellence in the craft of poetry writing a...