Monday 2 June 2014

Michael McLaverty Short Story Award 2014 Entry Guidelines - Deadline Midnight Monday 30th June 2014


ADJUDICATORS: Anne Tannahill, freelance Editor and retired MD of

Blackstaff Press and Bernard McLaverty, Author.

SPONSOR: Linen Hall Library

ENTRY FEE: £5 Sterling with each entry submitted

CLOSING DATE: Midnight Monday 30th June 2014


1. The award is open to Irish writers (born in Northern Ireland or the Republic of Ireland) over

eighteen years of age.

2. NO entry form is required.

3. Entries must NOT have been, by the date of submission, published or broadcast in any


4. Entries must be typed, in double spacing, using only one side of A4 paper.

5. Entries must NOT exceed the maximum of 3,000 words.

6. Entries will NOT be returned.

7. No indication of the writer’s identity may appear on the story to be entered.

8. Name, address, telephone number and e-mail address (if applicable) should be submitted on

a separate sheet, under the heading Michael McLaverty Short Story Award, 2014.

9. An entry fee of £5 Sterling must accompany each individual entry. Entries without this fee will

not be considered.

10. All cheques should be made payable to the Linen Hall Library. Please do not enclose cash.

11. No more than ONE story may be submitted by any entrant.

12. The decision of the adjudicators is final.

13. Winners and runners-up ONLY will be notified.

14. The adjudicators will not enter into any correspondence concerning the competition.

15. The staff of the Linen Hall Library will not enter into any correspondence concerning the


16. Should an appropriate standard not be achieved, no award will be presented.

17. The Linen Hall Library reserves the right to select for publication such entries as may be

deemed appropriate, in any year.

18. The Linen Hall Library will liaise with successful authors in preparing texts for publication.

19. The award will be presented at the Linen Hall Library in the month of November 2014.

Linen Hall Library
17 Donegall Square North, 

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please feel free to leave a message.

Anthology Poetry Award

Entries are now invited for the Anthology Poetry Award. Established to recognise and encourage excellence in the craft of poetry writing a...