Tuesday 17 June 2014

The 9th Annual Dixie Kane Memorial Contest - Deadline: July 15, 2014

The Dixie Kane Memorial Contest is a literary contest in honor of the late Linda Kay West, attorney, who wrote as Dixie Kane. A member of SOLA and RWA for many years, Linda served in numerous board positions. She shared her knowledge of writing, publishing, and law generously as a speaker at SOLA’s meetings and conferences. SOLA created the Dixie Kane Memorial Contest to encourage aspiring writers to hone their craft and submit their work.

Sponsor: SOLA, the Southern Louisiana Chapter of RWA

Fee: $15.00

Deadline: July 15, 2014

Eligibility: Entrants do not need to be members of Romance Writers of America to enter.

Enter: Just a taste–the first five (5) pages double spaced and a synopsis (one page, single-spaced, not judged). No electronic submissions. Contest Entry Form (doc) or Contest Entry Form (PDF)

Short/long series contemporary
Single title contemporary
Historical romance
Novel w/ strong romantic elements
Romantic suspense
Erotic romance

Judges: Experienced, trained, published/nonpublished.

Final Readers for first place entries:
Short/Long Series Contemporary, Rhonda Penders, Editor-in-Chief, The Wild Rose Press
Single Title Contemporary, Kathy Cottrell, Senior Editor Last Rose of Summer, The Wild Rose Press
Historical Romance, Allison Byers, Editor Historical Division, The Wild Rose Press
Paranormal, CallieLynn Wolfe, Senior Editor Black Rose, The Wild Rose Press
Inspirational, Nicola Martinez, Editor-in-Chief, Pelican Book Group
Novel w/ Strong Romantic Elements, Cindy Davis, Editor, The Wild Rose Press
Romantic Suspense, DJ Hendrickson, Editor, Champagne and Crimson Rose, The Wild Rose Press
Erotic Romance, Diana Carlile, Senior Editor, Scarlet Rose Line.

Prizes: $50 cash prize with tie breaker and special certificate for the overall highest score of all categories. Winners: First, second, third place, and honorable mention winners in each category will be announced on September 30, 2014. Also, first place winning entries will be sent to final judges for reading and potential requests for full or partial ms. First, second, third place, and honorable mention certificates. Winners will be announced in RWR, posted to SOLA’s website, New Orleans Times Picayune and other publications.

FMI: For entry form and rules visit www.solawriters.org, email the Contest Coordinator atngenovese@gmail.com, or send SASE to N. Genovese, 237 Pi Street, Belle Chasse, LA 70037

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please feel free to leave a message.

Anthology Poetry Award

Entries are now invited for the Anthology Poetry Award. Established to recognise and encourage excellence in the craft of poetry writing a...