Wednesday 25 June 2014

The Flambard Poetry Prize - 1st September 2014

First prize: £1000

Second prize: £250

We are very pleased to announce a new prize for poetry, The Flambard Poetry Prize, which has been set up in recognition of the achievements of Flambard Pressand the inspiration of founders Margaret and Peter Lewis. Between 1990 and 2012, Flambard Press published an acclaimed range of poetry and fiction, helping to nurture many emergent and established writers regionally and nationally. It was recognised as one of the finest small independent presses in the UK.

The Flambard Prize will be awarded annually to the best group of five poems submitted by a poet who has not yet published a single-authored pamphlet or collection. Each poem should be no longer than 40 lines.

The cost of entry is £5 per group of five poems.

The closing date for the 2014 competition is:
1st September 2014.

Entries will be judged by Peter Bennet and Gladys Mary Coles.

Entries can be made via email or by posting hard copies to:
Newcastle Centre for the Literary Arts,
Percy Building,
Newcastle University,
Newcastle Upon Tyne,

Payment should be made via the NCLA Webstore or by enclosing a cheque made payable to "Newcastle Centre for the Literary Arts" with your entries.

Further Information May be Obtained  here.

If you have any further questions, please email NCLA at

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please feel free to leave a message.

Anthology Poetry Award

Entries are now invited for the Anthology Poetry Award. Established to recognise and encourage excellence in the craft of poetry writing a...