Monday 7 July 2014

2014 Frank O’Connor international Short Story Award Shortlist Announced

The Munster Literature Centre is pleased to announce the SHORTLIST for the 2014 Frank O’Connor international Short Story Award (in alphabetical order by author surname below):

Young Skins by Colin Barrett (IRE) Stinging Fly Press/J.Cape
All the Rage by A.L. Kennedy (UK) J. Cape
Redeployment by Phil Klay (USA) Canongate
Leaving the Sea by Ben Marcus (USA) Granta
Bark by Lorrie Moore (USA) Knopf/Faber
The Isle of Youth by Laura Van Den Berg (USA) FSG

This year’s judges are Matthew Sweeney (IRE), Alison MacLeod (UK/CAN) and Manuel Gonzales (USA). The longlist, published Monday 9 June, is also available to view.

The Cork City – Frank O’Connor International Short Story Award is an annual award of €25,000 and is currently the world’s richest prize for a short story collection. The award is in memory of the late Frank O’Connor, one of the world’s most renowned short story writers. The award, organised by the Munster Literature Centre and funded by Cork City Council and the School of English University College Cork, is presented in O’Connor’s hometown of Cork, Ireland, at the end of the Frank O’Connor International Short Story Festival. The prize is awarded to the author of the book judged to be the best collection of stories published in English for the first time anywhere in the world in the twelve months between a first publication date of between July 1st of the prior year and June 30th of the current year. In 2014 we will be presenting the award for the tenth time.

The 15th Cork International Short Story Festival

The festival kicks off on the evening of Tuesday September 16th with a reading by Richard Ford and concludes on Saturday evening with a reading by the winner of the 2014 Frank O’Connor Award. In between over thirty writers from Ireland, Britain, China, Estonia, Jordan and the United States will share their work, partake in discussions and hobnob socially at the festival club. Dylan Thomas Prize winner Rachel Trezise presents a four-morning masterclass in the advanced short story. Novelist and short story writer Nuala Ní Chonchúir will present a four morning workshop on transitioning from the short story to the novel. Estonian poet Kristiina Ehin will present a four morning masterclass on poetry. The full programme will be released in July.

2014 Jury

The jury this year consists of non-voting chairman, Patrick Cotter, poet and Artistic Director of the Munster Literature Centre; Manuel Gonzales, novelist and short-story writer; Alison MacLeod, novelist and short story writer and poet Matthew Sweeney.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please feel free to leave a message.

Anthology Poetry Award

Entries are now invited for the Anthology Poetry Award. Established to recognise and encourage excellence in the craft of poetry writing a...