Wednesday 16 July 2014

Frank O'Connor International Short Story Award Announced

Colin Barrett has been announced as the winner of the Frank O'Connor International Short Story Award 2014

I am pleased to announce that the winner of the Frank O'Connor International Short Story Award is Irish author Colin Barrett for his debut collection Young Skins. Barrett from a small town in the west of Ireland has be likened to to James Joyce. A brilliant collection of Short stories published by Jonathan Cape in the UK, and Grove in the US. The €25,000 award is the single most lucrative in the world for a collection of short stories. The award has been hugely influential in raising the profile and esteem of the short story form in recent years. Previous winners have included Haruki Murakami, Edna O'Brien, Ron Rash and Yiyun Li amongst others.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please feel free to leave a message.

Anthology Poetry Award

Entries are now invited for the Anthology Poetry Award. Established to recognise and encourage excellence in the craft of poetry writing a...