Wednesday 30 July 2014

The Sunday Times EFG Short Story Award 2015 - DEADLINE 6pm (GMT) on Friday 26 September 2014

The world's richest short story prize…


Calling for Submissions

Now accepting entries from publishers, agents and authors.

The Award - an international prize for a single short story - recognises the finest writers, with previous winners including Junot Diaz, Kevin Barry, Anthony Doerr and C K Stead. Worth £30,000 to the winner and £1,000 to each of the five runners-up, prizes will be announced in April 2015.

Entry is open to authors from anywhere in the world, as long as they have a previous record of publication in creative writing in the UK and Ireland. Stories must be previously unpublished, or first published after 1 January 2014. All entries must be 6,000 words or under and entirely original.

Please note: the deadline for submissions is 6pm (GMT) on Friday 26 September 2014.

Stay updated with the Award on the Booktrust website or the Sunday Times website. You can also follow the award and all the latest news and updates by following @ShortStoryAward on Twitter and by using the #STEFG hashtag.

Find out how to enter and read our terms and conditions

About the The Sunday Times EFG Short Story Award 2015
About the prize
Entry guidelines

Launched in 2009 by Lord Matthew Evans, chairman of EFG Private Bank and Cathy Galvin from The Sunday Times, The Sunday Times EFG Short Story Award is the richest prize for a single short story in the English language open to any novelist or short story writer from around the world who is published in the UK. Worth £30,000 to the winner, and £1,000 to each of the shortlisted authors, the annual award aims to promote and celebrate the excellence of the modern short story, and has attracted entries from some of the world's finest writers.

Winners of the ­international competition, which is open to stories of up to 6,000 words written in English, have come from all over the world, and have included the Pulitzer prize-­winning American writer Junot Diaz, CK Stead from New ­Zealand and Kevin Barry from ­Ireland. Last year's recipient of the award was the Pulitzer winner Adam Johnson for his haunting story 'Nirvana'.

The prize has an immensely rich heritage, with some of the finest writers from America, Britain, Ireland and the Commonwealth appearing on its longlists and shortlists - among them Emma Donoghue, Adam Foulds, Mark Haddon, Sarah Hall, Yiyun Li, Hilary Mantel, Ali Smith, Elizabeth Strout, Graham Swift and Gerard Woodward. It also has a fine record of uncovering new talent, with 27-year-old UEA graduate Anna Metcalfe making the shortlist in 2014.

The anthologies of previous shortlisted stories, Six Shorts are published as ebooks and are available to download. The Sunday Times EFG Short Story Award stages two reading events each year when outstanding actors read shortlisted stories hosted by Foyles in their flagship store on Charing Cross Road, London and partnered with WordTheatre, the story performance specialists. Recordings of these readings are available to download and listen from

Previous winners

2014 Adam Johnson with 'Nirvana'

2013 Junot Diaz with 'Miss Lora'

2012 Kevin Barry with 'Beer Trip to Llandudno'

2011 Anthony Doerr with 'The Deep'

2010 CK Stead with 'Last Season's Man'

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please feel free to leave a message.

Anthology Poetry Award

Entries are now invited for the Anthology Poetry Award. Established to recognise and encourage excellence in the craft of poetry writing a...