Tuesday 12 August 2014

BBC Cymru Wales and National Theatre Wales, in partnership with BBC Writersroom, are inviting submissions for the second, prestigious £10,000 Wales Drama Award. #writing #opportunities #writingcompetitions

The biennial Wales Drama Award is both a celebration of writers in Wales and an open call to Welsh talent, whether emerging or established. It’s a collaboration between two creative leaders in drama – BBC Cymru Wales andNational Theatre Wales, in partnership with BBC Writersroom – and was first launched in 2012.

The winner of this year’s Wales Drama Award will again receive £10,000, and an opportunity to develop their script and work closely with both BBC Cymru Wales and National Theatre Wales. Two runners-up will each receive £1,000 each.

This opportunity is open to any writer residing in Wales. Writers must submit a full-length script in any medium, unperformed or unproduced and in the English language and at least 30 minutes long.

BBC Writersroom will be accepting submissions for the Wales Drama Awardbetween Monday 22nd September and 5pm on 7th October 2014 via our online e-submissions system. The link to e-submissions will be published on this page on 22nd September. Find out more about e-submissions

Read the full Terms and Conditions of entry for the Wales Drama Award

Open Sessions

Open sessions will be held in Cardiff, Aberystwyth, and Wrexham, in which writers can find out more.

Cardiff - Sherman Theatre, Senghennydd Road, Cathays, CF24 4YE, Thursday, 31 July 2014 from 5 - 6.30pm BOOK FREE TICKETS

Wrexham - The Catrin Finch Centre, Glyndwr University, Wrexham, LL11 2AW - Friday, 1 August 2014 from 5 - 6.30pm BOOK FREE TICKETS

A third session is planned for Aberystwyth in September, the exact date and venue will be announced on this website and our Twitter feed.

The Judges

Kate Rowland, BBC Creative Director New Writing will lead the judging panel with Faith Penhale, BBC Cymru Wales Head of Drama, John McGrath, Artistic Director of National Theatre Wales, and writers Andrew Davies and Lucy Gannon.

Up to six shortlisted writers will be invited to a meeting with the judges in November 2014 to discuss their script and any ideas they want to develop, and the winner will be announced in December 2014.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please feel free to leave a message.

Anthology Poetry Award

Entries are now invited for the Anthology Poetry Award. Established to recognise and encourage excellence in the craft of poetry writing a...