Thursday 7 August 2014

Cutthroat Journal Competition

a journal of the arts...

The 2013 Joy Harjo Poetry Award & the Rick DeMarinis Short Story Award:
For more information call 1-970-903-7914or email us @

Mail manuscripts to:

CUTTHROAT Literary Award(specify genre)

P.O. Box 2414

Durango, CO 81302

**First Prize in each genre: $1250 and publication.**

**Second Prize in each genre: $250 and publication. **

**Honorable Mention: Publication.**


MARTIN ESPADA, Joy Harjo Poetry Prize

BOBBIE ANN MASON, Rick DeMarinis Short Fiction Prize

Submit up to three unpublished poems (100 line limit each) or one unpublished short story (5000 word limit), any subject, any style, postmarked BY OCTOBER 20, 2014. MAIL ENTRIES: Author name must not appear on MS. Include a cover sheet with name, address, phone, email, genre and title(s). MUST include SASE for announcement of winners. A stamped postcard for receipt of ms. is optional. Manuscripts must be in 12 point font. All paper manuscripts are recycled. DO NOT STAPLE STORIES OR POEMS! Submit as often as

you wish (online and mail). Simultaneous submissions are accepted as long as writer informs us. $17 fee for all entries. Make checks payable to Raven's Word Writers. ONLINE ENTRIES: Do not include a cover sheet. AUTHOR NAME MUST NOT APPEAR ON MS! $17 entry fee. You will be instructed how to pay this by our submission service. Fiction must be double-spaced. 12 point font. No relatives of or employees of CUTTHROAT, no friends or students of judges are eligible for these prizes. No stories or poems that have been published or have won contests are eligible. All winners will be notified

by December 31, 2014.


Thank you to all the writers who submitted last year!


No comments:

Post a Comment

Please feel free to leave a message.

Anthology Poetry Award

Entries are now invited for the Anthology Poetry Award. Established to recognise and encourage excellence in the craft of poetry writing a...