Friday 1 August 2014

iYeats International Poetry competition

The winner of the The Hawk’s Well Theatre’s iYeats International Poetry competition was announced on Thursday 31st July at a ceremony at the Hawk’s Well Theatre during the 55th Yeats International Summer School. This year’s winner is Winifred McNulty for her poem ‘Tawnytallon’ and the judges decided to commend three further poets this year – Connie Roberts for ‘Oasis’, Phil Lynch for ‘Changing Light’ and Heather Richardson for ‘Telling’.
The iYeats Poetry competition was launched by the Hawk's Well Theatre in 2009 to mark the 50th Yeats International Summer School and the 70th anniversary of the death of W. B Yeats. The iYeats Poetry competition is an online national and international poetry competition which has won a prestigious reputation for the calibre of both entrants and judges. The judges for 2014 are Peter Sirr and Catherine Phil MacCarthy.
There was no winner in the Emerging Talent category for 2014 as the number and standard of entries in the General category was so high.
Katie Donovan and James Harpur were the competition judges in 2013. Previous judges have included Theo Dorgan and Paula Meehan (2012) Gerald Dawe & Enda Wyley (2011), Vincent Woods & Rita Ann Higgins (2010) and Niall MacMonagle & Mary Branley (2009). 

The winning poems are published on the Hawk’s Well website.
First Prize €500
Commended X 3 €50

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please feel free to leave a message.

Anthology Poetry Award

Entries are now invited for the Anthology Poetry Award. Established to recognise and encourage excellence in the craft of poetry writing a...