Friday 8 August 2014

Sisters in Crime Australia’s short story competition - Deadline August 31, 2014 #writingcompetitions #shortstory #contests #writing

Sisters in Crime Australia’s short story competition

The Scarlet Stiletto Awards, turns 20 this year and offers an unprecedented $7000 in prize money.

The Harper Collins First Prize has been increased to $1500 with the winner also receiving the coveted trophy, a scarlet stiletto withits steel heel plunging into a perspex mount.

For the second year running, Melbourne’s famous Athenaeum Library is offering a prize of $1000 (as well as a runner-up prize of $500) for the best short story with the words “body in the library”.

New awards include The Folio Society’s Second Prize ($500), the Sun Bookshop Third Prize ($350) and the Ann Byrne Award for the Best Financial Crime ($350). Kerry Greenwood’s Malice Domestic Award now offers $750 and the Clan Destine Press Cross-genre Award amounts to $350, this year. The Catherine Leppert Best Environmental Theme Award is now worth $300.

Cate Kennedy, who got her entrée to literary stardom through winning the first two Scarlet Stilettos back in 1994 and 1995, is again offering the Best New Talent Award ($350).

Sisters in Crime’s National Co-convenor Phyllis King said that Sisters in Crime was delighted to that the Scarlet Stiletto Awards would be turning 20 with a bang (or a scream, as the case may be).

“The Scarlet Stiletto Awards have dug up a lot of talent, as well as more than our fair share of bodies. To date, 16 Scarlet Stiletto Award winners (including category winners) have gone on to have novels published – Cate Kennedy, Tara Moss, Angela Savage, Josephine Pennicott, Sara Evans, Inga Simpson, Alex Palmer, Liz Filleul, Margaret Bevege, Patricia Bernard, Bronwen Blake, Jo McGahey, Cheryl Jorgensen, Kylie Fox, Simmone Howell and Amanda Wrangles,” she said.

“In October, the debut novel of Ellie Marney, the 2010 trophy winner will be published, bringing the total to 17. We’re feeling immensely proud of playing a part in nurturing so much criminal talent.”

The awards are the country’s most lucrative crime writing competition for either gender. Stories must have a crime or mystery theme and a female protagonist.

Last year the Scarlet Stiletto Awards attracted a record 182 entries. King attributed the increased number to the inaugural award offered by Melbourne’s famous Athenaeum Library for the best short story with the words “body in the library”, the title of Agatha Christie’s famous novel.

Five authors have won the Scarlet Stiletto Award twice and subsequently been invited to become judges: Cate Kennedy, Christina Lee, Roxxy Bent, Janis Spehr and Josephine Pennicott. Only Cate Kennedy, however, has a matching pair of stilettos.

Two collection of winning short stories from the competition have been published by Clan Destine Press: Scarlet Stiletto: The First Cut, and Scarlet Stiletto: The Second Cut.

The 20th Scarlet Stiletto Awards close on August 31, 2013. Entry fee: $10. Maximum story length: 5000 word.

The downloadable entry forms is available here

or by writing to Sisters in Crime Australia, GPO Box 5319, Melbourne 3001

The 20th Scarlet Stiletto Awards will be presented at the Rising Sun Hotel, 2 Raglan St., South Melbourne at 8pm Friday 22 November.

A full list of awards follows.

Further info: Contact Phyllis King on 0411 084 300

20th Scarlet Stiletto Awards Prizes

Harper Collins First Prize: ($1500 plus trophy)

Folio Society Second Prize: ($500)

Sun Bookshop Third Prize: ($300)

Allen & Unwin ($Young Writers’ Award for writers. 18 or under: 500).

Athenaeum Library ‘Body in the Library Award ($1000; runner up- $500)

The Kerry Greenwood Malice Domestic Award ($750)

The Cate Kennedy Best New Talent prize ($350)

Clan Destine Press Cross-Genre Award ($350)

The Ann Byrne Best Financial Crime Award ($350)

The Catherine Leppert Award for Best Environmental Theme ($300)

Benn’s Books Best Investigative Story Award ($200)

ScriptWorks Great Film Idea Award ($200)

Pulp Fiction Bookshop Funniest Crime Award ($150 voucher)

Thanks also to Spinifex Books.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please feel free to leave a message.

Anthology Poetry Award

Entries are now invited for the Anthology Poetry Award. Established to recognise and encourage excellence in the craft of poetry writing a...