Monday 8 September 2014

2015 UNT Rilke Prize #writing #Poetry #Rilke #Prize #contests #Competitions

Now accepting submissions. Must be postmarked by November 30, 2014.

The prize is named after the German poet Rainer Maria Rilke (1875-1926), a writer whose work embodies the qualities of ambition, intellectual and imaginative scope, and technical mastery we seek to recognize.


An annual award of a $10,000 award recognizing a book that demonstrates exceptional artistry and vision written by a mid-career poet and published in the preceding year.


Entrants must have published at least two previous books of poetry and be U.S. citizens or legal resident aliens of the United States.

Work must be original poetry written in English.

Books may be submitted by presses or by writers themselves and must be postmarked byNovember 30, 2014.

Eligible books must have been published between November 1, 2013 and October 31, 2014.

Each submission must include 2 copies of the book and a completed entry form.

Self-published books will not be considered.

Finalists may be asked to submit further copies.

Books will not be returned.

The winner will travel to Texas to give readings at UNT and in the DFW Metroplex on April 15th and 16th, 2015. UNT will pay for travel expenses. The author must also allow portions of the winning work to be reproduced for promoting the award. Poets who enter the prize must agree to these terms in order to accept the prize.

Results will be announced in January.


The prize will be judged by UNT’s poetry faculty.

Submission Requirements

Authors or publishers will include a paper copy with the two copies of the book submission.

Entry form (found here). Please "save as" to your desktop and complete the form.

Mail submissions and entry form to:

The UNT Rilke Prize
Department of English
University of North Texas
1155 Union Circle #311307
Denton, TX 76203-5017

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please feel free to leave a message.

Anthology Poetry Award

Entries are now invited for the Anthology Poetry Award. Established to recognise and encourage excellence in the craft of poetry writing a...