Monday, 8 September 2014

Amy Lowell Poetry Travelling Scholarship - $52,000 Cash Prize - NO Entry Fee #seanocarolan #writing #poetry #Scholarship #contests

Amy Lowell Poetry Travelling Scholarship - $52,000 Cash Prize

Administered by a board of trustees, the Amy Lowell Poetry Travelling Scholarship awards a cash prize of$52,000 to a poet who has written the best collection of poetry of any style. Your poetry sample must be less than 40 pages, including 20 pages or less of your most current work. The winner must consent to spend the year overseas. The award is dispersed to the winner in quarterly payments. Candidates must be citizens of the United States. The judges are comprised of a member of the English Dept. of Harvard Univ., two renowned poets, and the Trustees of this scholarship. Amy Lawrence Lowell (1874-1925) was an American poet who was awarded the Pulitzer Prize for Poetry for her book of poetry titled, "What's O'Clock." Her will founded this annual scholarship to promote travel to other countries for talented American-born poets.

Deadline: October 15, 2014. NO ENTRY FEE.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please feel free to leave a message.

Anthology Poetry Award

Entries are now invited for the Anthology Poetry Award. Established to recognise and encourage excellence in the craft of poetry writing a...