Monday 1 September 2014

Best-selling author Val Wood launches writing competition in Hull #writing #contets #competitions #opportunities

Val Wood Prize "Hull is Where the Heart is"

The competition is open to anyone over 18 years of age. Entries should be in the form of a short story and entrants are free to write about whatever they wish but the city of Hull must feature as the setting of the story and each story must feature the line "Hull is where the heart is" at some point in their story.

The winner of the competition will receive £100 and their entry will be published the website The runner up will receive £50 and there will also be two commendations of £25. Cash prizes are kindly donated by Quickline Communications and The James Reckitt Library Trust.

Conditions of Entry

All entries must be typed or neatly handwritten and be no less than 500 words with a maximum word-count of 1000.

Entries should be submitted on or before Friday 22th August 2014

Your name, address, telephone number and/or email address must be included with your entry on a separate piece of paper.

Entries can be sent to with the subject Val Wood Prize for Creative Writing to Postal entries can be sent to: Val Wood Prize for Creative Writing, Hull Central Library, Albion Street, Hull, HU1 3TF

Entries from already published writers will not be accepted.

Entries must be the original work of the competitor, in English, and must not have been published, broadcast or have won a competition prize.

No alterations can be made to a story once it has been submitted.

If sending your entry by post, please check that you have used the correct postage.

Entries cannot be returned – so please keep a copy.

Entrants can win only one prize. The decision of the judge is final and no correspondence will be entered into.

The winner of the competition and runners up will be announced at a special ceremony at Hull Central Library on 20th September 2014 at 2pm. The winner may be photographed and interviewed for publicity purposes.

Entrants who make the shortlist will be notified by Friday 12 September 2014. Copyright remains with the author, but the organisers reserve the right to publish the winning entries online or in print for one year after 20th September 2014.

The organisers reserve right to alter details of the competition if necessary.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please feel free to leave a message.

Anthology Poetry Award

Entries are now invited for the Anthology Poetry Award. Established to recognise and encourage excellence in the craft of poetry writing a...