Saturday, 27 September 2014

The GrubStreet National Book Prize

The GrubStreet National Book Prize

The GrubStreet National Book Prize is awarded once annually to an American writer publishing their second, third, fourth (or beyond...) book. First books are not eligible. Each winner receives a cash award of $5,000.

The genre of the prize—Fiction, Nonfiction or Poetry—rotates from year to year. See below for information, including application requirements, for the current prize.

Though GrubStreet's top criterion is the overall literary merit of the work submitted, the award committee especially encourages writers publishing with small presses, writers of short story collections, and writers of color to apply. We also want the award to benefit writers for whom a trip to Boston will likely expand their readership in a meaningful way.
Current Prize: Fiction

We are currently accepting submissions for the GrubStreet Book Prize in Fiction. Deadline is October 1, 2014 (postmark).

Eligible books include novels, short story and novella collections, and novels in stories published between January 1, 2014 and May 1, 2015. The author must reside in the United States.

The fiction winner will be invited to Boston in May 2015 for the Muse and the Marketplaceconference, where they will give a public reading and lead a craft class. GrubStreet will also hold a reception in the winner’s honor. Inability to attend this reading/reception and/or lead the craft class may result in forfeiture of the prize. GrubStreet pays all travel and accommodation expenses.

Publishers may submit books on behalf of authors, but applications must include all materials below in order to be eligible.

Winner will be notified on or before March 1st, 2015.
Application Requirements

(1) Two copies of the author's most recent or upcoming book, in bound galleys or final form, published between January 1, 2014 and May 1, 2015. (Important: the hardcover or paperback original must be available to booksellers by May 1, 2015. Paperbacks are not eligible if hardcover was published before January 1, 2014.) Books available solely in electronic form are not eligible. Self-published books are not eligible. Debut fiction is not eligible, unless the author has published a previous book of poetry or non-fiction.

(2) Curriculum vitae

(3) 500-word synopsis of a craft class on some aspect of fiction writing

(4) $30 tax-deductible donation/reading fee** made out to GrubStreet, Inc.

(5) Send all materials to: GrubStreet Book Prize in Fiction; 162 Boylston Street, 5th Floor, Boston, MA 02116.

**If the book is published by a press with annual sales under $5 million, the submission fee is waived.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please feel free to leave a message.

Anthology Poetry Award

Entries are now invited for the Anthology Poetry Award. Established to recognise and encourage excellence in the craft of poetry writing a...