Monday 1 September 2014

The Newcomer Prize for short stories. #writimg #Short #Story #contests #competitions

The Newcomer Prize for short stories.

About the Prize

The Newcomer Prize is a competition for new short stories from 1,000 to 5,000 words in length. The first prize is £500; the second prize £250. Both winners will also be published in an upcoming Fiction Desk anthology. Entry costs £8 per story. The deadline is Friday, October 31st. Winners will be announced in January.

We welcome the same range of literary and crossover genre fiction to the Newcomer Prize that we feature in the pages of our anthologies. (If you've not yet read us, it's worth picking up one of our anthologies to see what we publish.)
How to Enter

To enter the competition, please use our online form, which you can findhere.

If you'd like to hear more from us about the competition, and be reminded before the deadline, you might want to consider signing up for our newsletter.
Eligibility Criteria

To be eligible to enter a story or stories for the Newcomer Prize, you need to meet the following conditions:
The story you are entering must not have been published anywhere before, including in print, digital formats, or online.
You have not been published previously by The Fiction Desk.
You have not had a novel or collection of short stories published in physical, printed format.

However, these things don't affect eligibility:
You can still enter if you have published short stories previously in other magazines or anthologies. (Just not with The Fiction Desk.)
You can still enter if you have previously published novels or short story collections, as long as they are only online or in ebook formats (eg Scribd, or Kindle).
Non-fiction publications in any format do not affect eligibility.
Any books due for publication after January 1st, 2015, do not affect eligibility.

For full terms of entry, please see the entry form.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please feel free to leave a message.

Anthology Poetry Award

Entries are now invited for the Anthology Poetry Award. Established to recognise and encourage excellence in the craft of poetry writing a...