Thursday, 30 October 2014


We are thrilled to announce that the 2015 Bristol Short Story Prize is open for entries.

Once again, we are delighted that our panel of fantastic judges will be chaired by Sara Davies. Sara has been at the forefront of short stories in the U.K. for the past two decades, producing stories by scores and scores of the most celebrated writers in the world for BBC Radio 4, as well as introducing and championing numerous new writers.

Sara will be joined on the panel by leading literary agent, Rowan Lawton, of the Furniss Lawton agency, writer and TV presenter, Sanjida O’Connell, author of four critically acclaimed novels, and the celebrated writer, journalist and performer, Nikesh Shukla, recently voted one of the most influential and innovative people in publishing and writing in the h100 Club Awards.

For more information on our judging panel please click here.

Stories can be entered online or by post. The closing date for entries is midnight (BST) on April 30th 2015. First prize is £1,000 plus a £150 Waterstones gift card, 2nd prize is £700 plus a £100 Waterstones gift card and 3rd prize is £400 plus a £100 Waterstones gift card. The 2015 Bristol Short Story Prize Awards Ceremony will be held in Bristol in October 2015. There is no theme or subject but stories must not have been previously published or broadcast. There is an £8.00 entry fee for each story entered.
20 stories will be shortlisted and published in the Bristol Short Story Prize Anthology Volume 8. The top three winning stories will be selected from the shortlist of 20. The anthology will be launched at the awards ceremony in October next year. Please visit our Rules page for full details.
The 2014 Bristol Short Story Prize was won by Mahsuda Snaith for her brilliant story, The Art of Flood Survival. Mahsuda was announced as the winner at our annual awards ceremony four days ago, held at Spike Island arts centre in Bristol. Mahsuda’s winning story plus the 19 other brilliant stories are available in our latest anthology.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please feel free to leave a message.

Anthology Poetry Award

Entries are now invited for the Anthology Poetry Award. Established to recognise and encourage excellence in the craft of poetry writing a...