Monday 6 October 2014

The 2015 Exeter Story Prize

Submissions are invited for stories of up to ten thousand words.

First prize - £500 + trophy

Second prize - £150

Third prize - £100

In addition, CreativeWritingMatters is immensely proud to announce:

The Trisha Ashley Award
for the best humorous story - £200 + trophy.

Closing date 30th April 2015
Fee: £8

Trisha Ashley writes romantic comedies and her latest novel, Wish Upon a Star, is her fifth consecutive Sunday Times Top Ten bestseller. Her novels have twice been shortlisted for the Melissa Nathan award for Romantic Comedy and Every Woman for Herself was nominated by readers as one of the top three romantic novels of the last fifty years.

How to Enter

Read through all the rules below.
In the subject line of your email, type ESP followed by the title of your story.

In the body of the email type your name, contact details (postal address and phone number, mobile and/or landline) and the title of your story.
Attach your story in one of the formats set out in Rule 9.
Email to
Click on the Paypal button below and pay the fee.
If payment is made using a different name, it is essential you include that name in the email you send with the story.


The Exeter Story Prize is open for submissions until midnight on April 30th 2015, which is without exception the closing date. Any entries received after this date will be disqualified and no refund of the entry fee will be made.

The Exeter Story Prize is for a story of up to ten thousand words. There is no minimum word count.

Stories may be on any theme but only humorous stories will be eligible for the Trisha Ashley Award.

The judges will decide which stories will be put forward for the Trisha Ashley Award.
Stories should not have been previously published in print, on the internet or broadcast.

Simultaneous submissions are allowed but please be prepared to withdraw your entry if it is a prizewinner elsewhere.

Entries can only be submitted electronically via this site and the payment made via Paypal. See above.

Entrants should be over 18 years of age.

Only doc, docx, pdf and rtf files will be accepted. Any other formats will be disqualified. Please present your work in 12pt Times New Roman or Arial, 1.5 or double-spaced.

The long list will be published here in July. The winners will be announced at an award ceremony in Sept/Oct 2015. Exact date t.b.a.
The judges decision is final. No correspondence will be entered into.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please feel free to leave a message.

Anthology Poetry Award

Entries are now invited for the Anthology Poetry Award. Established to recognise and encourage excellence in the craft of poetry writing a...