Monday, 6 October 2014

The Caladonia Novel Award 2015

The Caledonia Novel Award, a new international prize for unpublished novel manuscripts that is being established by Wendy Bough – an Edinburgh-based editor, scout, avid reader and passionate supporter of new writing talent. As an editor, she has worked for publications such as Tatler and Vanity Fair along with many much less glamorous documents for The British Foreign Office. Wendy choose the longlist for The Bath Novel Award in 2014 and will be chairing the longlist panel for The Caledonia Award 2015.

The Caledonia Novel Award aims to spotlight and support emerging novel writers.

2015 Judge: Hellie Ogden, Literary Agent at Janklow & Nesbit

Prize: £1,000 | Closing date: 02 November 2014 | Fee: £20

Entries should include the first 20 pages plus a 200 word synopsis

Rules of Entry:

The closing date for entries is 02 November 2014

A longlist will be announced on 30 November 2014 and longlisted writers invited to submit their full manuscript by 07 December 2014
A shortlist will be announced in January 2015, with the winner announced in February 2015 and awarded a cheque for £1,000 GBP
Novels can be in any genre for adults or young adults
Novels must be the entrant’s original work and at least 50,000 words in length
Entries are open to writers over the age of eighteen of any nationality and from any country
Entrants must not have had a novel published, including self-published
Entrants retain full copyright of their work, however by entering give The Caledonian Novel Award permission to post an extract from the first 20 pages of any shortlisted entries on our website
Entries should be submitted via email to with two attachments: i) the first 20 pages of your novel (double-spaced in a size 12 font) followed by a 200 word synopsis AND ii) a separate cover page detailing your name (this should not appear anywhere on your novel extract), novel title, contact details and payment method
The entrance fee is £20 per novel, payable by debit/credit card via the Paypal button on this page

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please feel free to leave a message.

Anthology Poetry Award

Entries are now invited for the Anthology Poetry Award. Established to recognise and encourage excellence in the craft of poetry writing a...