Tuesday, 9 December 2014

11th Windsor Fringe Kenneth Branagh Drama Writing Award. #seanocarolan.com #Writing #contest #Plays

Amateur playwrights are invited to submit unpublished one-act plays for the 

11th Windsor Fringe Kenneth Branagh Drama Writing Award.

Three winning scripts, judged purely on the writing, will be selected for performance in October during the 2015 Windsor Fringe Festival.

Submission deadline March 5th 2015.

Criteria: Only amateur playwrights are eligible to enter. One script maximum per entrant. Plays must not have been previously performed, be the original work of the entrant and be suitable for staging in a studio theatre with no more than six actors. Plays must be no more than 30 minutes long.

Guidelines: Submit two copies of each script, printed on A4 paper, no binding or stapling. The pages must be numbered. No submissions by email, no scripts returned. Judging is on a totally anonymous basis – the author’s name must not appear in the script. The cover page must include the name of the play, author’s name, contact details and signature. BBC Writersroom applicants will be granted a waiver of the £5 reading fee if the words “Writers Room” appear on the top right- hand corner of the cover page.

Judges: Iqbal Khan and Alan Brodie were the 2014 judges. This year's judges are to be confirmed.

Shortlisted writers will be announced in mid. June 2015 on the Windsor Fringe website. The three short-listed author’s plays will be performed on the last three nights of The Windsor Fringe Festival during October 2015. The winner will be announced after the last performance.


Scripts should be sent to:

Windsor Fringe Drama Writing Award

Suite 640, 24-28 St Leonard’s Road

Windsor, Berks. SL4 3BB U.K

For further infomation and contact details visit the Windsor Fringe website or email

Please note that these schemes are listed here for your convenience. However, they are run by external organisations and unless otherwise noted the BBC has no involvement with them. Therefore the BBC cannot respond to any queries in connection to those and accepts no liability for the accuracy of third party websites and the information contained on them.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please feel free to leave a message.

Anthology Poetry Award

Entries are now invited for the Anthology Poetry Award. Established to recognise and encourage excellence in the craft of poetry writing a...