Monday, 1 December 2014

The Nature Conservancy Australia Nature Writing Prize 2014 #writing

The Nature Conservancy Australia Nature Writing Prize 2014 

Review the terms and conditions and submit your essay here.

The $5,000 award is for an essay between 3,000 and 5,000 words in the genre of ‘Writing of Place’ and the winning essay will be published in the Australian Book Review. The prize will go to an Australian writer whose entry is judged to be of the highest literary merit and which best explores his or her relationship and interaction with some aspect of the Australian landscape. The competition’s judges are Jesse Blackadder, award-winning author of Chasing the Light and Paruku The Desert Brumby, and Robert Gray, renowned poet, critic, and freelance writer.

The prize has been made possible thanks to a generous donation from The McLean Foundation, which is keen to promote and celebrate the literature of nature in Australia.

Richard Gilmore, Country Director of The Nature Conservancy Australia, looks forward to building on the success of the first two nature writing prizes, which attracted over 200 exceptional writers collectively.

The inaugural prize was won by Annamaria Weldon for her piece ‘Threshold Country,’ which the judges described as "a marvelously orchestrated, complex meditation on belonging. It is at once assured and yet gently voiced." The second biennial prize was awarded to Stephen Wright for his essay ‘Bunyip’ which explored the culture and fate of Indigenous communities and early European settlers as they navigated the landscape of South East Queensland.

The deadline for submissions between 3,000 and 5,000 words is December 24, 2014 and the winner will be announced in May 2015. The prize is open to Australian citizens and permanent residents. Participants will need to pay an entry fee of $40.

Read the Terms and Conditions Enter The Nature Conservancy Australia Nature Writing Prize

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please feel free to leave a message.

Anthology Poetry Award

Entries are now invited for the Anthology Poetry Award. Established to recognise and encourage excellence in the craft of poetry writing a...