Wednesday, 17 December 2014

The Peoples College /Roberts’ Short Story Competition #writing #competion #contests #prize

Thanks To Lynne

The Peoples College /Roberts’ Short Story Competition

The Roberts Short Story Competition has been established in memory of Ruaidhrí Roberts, founder of the People’s College, and of his wife, Nora Roberts.

It is for previously unpublished stories of up to 2,500 words on any subject.

Judge: award-winning novelist and poet Niamh Boyce

1st prize: €1000

2nd prize: €750

3rd prize: 500

Closing date: February 28 2015

Stories can be on any topic up to a limit of 2,500 words, typed 1.5 or double spaced on A4 paper, single-sided, with numbered pages securely fastened.
There is no limit to the number of entries submitted.
Entry fee per story €10
Stories will not be returned, so entrants should keep a copy of each submission.
Stories will be judged anonymously. Entrant’s name should not appear anywhere on the story. Contact details should only appear on a separate entry form, available online or from the competition flyer.
Stories should be in English and not have been published or accepted for publication elsewhere.
Stories that have won other competitions are not eligible.
Stories can be emailed to under subject heading ‘Short Story competition’ or can be sent by post to The People’s College, 31 Parnell Square, Dublin 1. If you require confirmation that your postal entry has been received, please include a stamped self-addressed postcard bearing the title of your story.
Entry fee must be in euro. If you wish to use a different currency please pay online via PayPal.

A short list will be published on the People’s College website in April 2015 and the winners will be announced at an event in the Teachers’ Club, Parnell Square, in May/June 2015.

Winning stories will be published on the website and the first prize winner will also be published in our 2015 newsletter.

Download an application here

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please feel free to leave a message.

Anthology Poetry Award

Entries are now invited for the Anthology Poetry Award. Established to recognise and encourage excellence in the craft of poetry writing a...