Thursday 1 January 2015

The Short Fiction Prize #writing #contests #competition #prize

- The Short Fiction Prize -

first prize: £500 + publication second prize: £100

Open for entries January 1st – March 31st 2015

Entry fee: £10 – submit up to 2 stories and receive a free copy of our next issue (worth £10)

£6 – submit 1 story

Stories must be no longer than 6,000 words and must be unpublished in print or online. Entries will also be considered for general publication. Stories may be in any theme/genre and you can submit as many times as you like. Online entries only. After making your payment via the PayPal buttons below, please submit your entries to with ‘Competition Entry’ in the subject box. You can also enter using a credit/debit card with these buttons. Stories will be read anonymously up to the longlist stage, which will be announced in June, the shortlist in July. The winner and runner-up will be announced in August. Please read our competition ruleshere before entering. Good luck!

£10 – submit up to two stories + receive free copy of Issue 9

£6 – submit one story

The Judges

Alison MacLeod is the author of three novels, including the 2013 Man-Booker long-listed novelUnexploded, and the short fiction collection Fifteen Modern Tales of Attraction. Her stories have been widely published, broadcast, anthologized and nominated for awards such as The BBC National Short Story Award and The Sunday Times EFG International Short Story Award. Her next short story collection and novel will be published by Bloomsbury. She is Professor of Contemporary Fiction at the University of Chichester.

Anthony Caleshu is the author of two books of poetry and a novella. His poems and stories have appeared widely in journals and newspapers on both sides of the Atlantic, including the Times Literary Supplement, Poetry Review, Poetry Ireland Review, The Dublin Review, American Literary Review, and Agni Online. He is Professor of Poetry at Plymouth University.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please feel free to leave a message.

Anthology Poetry Award

Entries are now invited for the Anthology Poetry Award. Established to recognise and encourage excellence in the craft of poetry writing a...