Wednesday, 11 February 2015

St. Francis College $50,000 for a 3rd to 5th published work of fiction #Writing #Prize

Submissions for the fourth St. Francis College $50,000 Literary Prize open November 1, 2014.

2015 Jury
Sigrid Nunez (Boston University)
Erin McGraw (Ohio State University)
Daniel Torday (Bryn Mawr)
About the Jurors

Sigrid Nunez has published six novels, including A Feather on the Breath of God, The Last of Her Kind, and, most recently,Salvation City. She is also the author of Sempre Susan: A Memoir of Susan Sontag. Among the journals to which she has contributed are The New York Times, Threepenny Review, Harper’s, McSweeney’s, The Believer, and Tin House. Her honors and awards include four Pushcart Prizes, a Whiting Writer’s Award, a Berlin Prize Fellowship, and two awards from the American Academy of Arts and Letters: the Rosenthal Foundation Award and the Rome Prize in Literature.

Erin McGraw is the author of six books of fiction, most recently the novels The Seamstress of Hollywood Boulevard (Houghton Mifflin, 2008), and Better Food for a Better World (Slant Books, 2013). Her short fiction and essays have appeared in The Kenyon Review, Story, The Atlantic Monthly, Good Housekeeping, The Southern Review, The Georgia Review, Allure, and other magazines and journals. She teaches at the Ohio State University, and is married to the poet Andrew Hudgins.

Daniel Torday's debut novel, The Last Flight of Poxl West, will be published by St. Martin's Press in 2015. His novella, The Sensualist, won the 2012 National Jewish Book Award for debut fiction. Torday's short stories and essays have appeared in Esquire Magazine, Glimmer Train, Harvard Review, The New York Times and The Kenyon Review. He is currently the Director of Creative Writing at Bryn Mawr College.

About the Literary Prize

The biannual $50,000 Literary Prize is sponsored by St. Francis College to offer its support and encouragement to the literary community and mid-career authors who have recently published their 3rd to 5th work of fiction.

Self-published books and English translations are considered.
The current Prize is for work published between June 2013 and May 2015.
Prize submissions open: November 1, 2014

Deadline for prize submissions: May 1, 2015

Shortlist announced: August 15, 2015
Winner awarded: Brooklyn Book Festival Gala, September 2015.

To enter, please submit 5 copies of the work to:
SFC Literary Prize
St. Francis College
180 Remsen Street
Brooklyn, NY 11201

Questions?: Email Provost Timothy Houlihan
David Vann's novel, Dirt, won the third St. Francis College Literary Prize

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please feel free to leave a message.

Anthology Poetry Award

Entries are now invited for the Anthology Poetry Award. Established to recognise and encourage excellence in the craft of poetry writing a...