Monday, 20 April 2015

Four Corners 2015 - International Poetry Competition - Deadline 2nd July 2015 #Writing #contests #competitions

Four Corners 2015
International Poetry Competition

Poems are invited for an international poetry competition judged by Mimi Khalvati.
Prizewinning and commended poems will be published in a commemorative pamphlet and prizes awarded at a ceremony on Tuesday 13th October 2015.

Theme: 'Four Corners', based on the College motto ad quattuor cardines mundi (to the four corners of the earth), which will be interpreted broadly.
Poems: up to six poems, in any form, each up to 40 lines, submitted by Thursday 2 July by email to (see more detailed guidance).
Entry: By email only as attachments (.doc, .docx, .pdf only). See moredetailed guidance before submitting. Email cover note must contain full contact details; St Cross membership status and dates (if relevant); list of titles; number of poems submitted; total fee paid; and University of Oxford online store order number.
Judging: the lead judge is the internationally recognised poet and teacher Mimi Khalvati. Her website provides more information about her 8 collections of poetry. She is also the founder of the Poetry School. She will be assisted by the prizewinning poet Giles Goodland, whose latest collection appeared in 2012. Kate Venables and Sir Mark Jones will support the judging process from the College.
Eligibility: poems are invited from poets of any nationality, with or without a connection to the University or college.
Awards: Prizes of £500 (open category) and £250 (St Cross category) will be awarded. Prizewinning and commended poets will receive a copy of the prize pamphlet and their poems will appear on the College website.
Submission: Please submit by email to (no postal submissions will be considered). Payment is via the online payment link(submission fee of £5 for first poem, £3 for each subsequent poem). Detailed competition rules can be viewed here.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please feel free to leave a message.

Anthology Poetry Award

Entries are now invited for the Anthology Poetry Award. Established to recognise and encourage excellence in the craft of poetry writing a...