Wednesday 1 April 2015

Nimrod Literary Awards #writing #award #contest

The 37th Nimrod Literary Awards

The Katherine Anne Porter Prize for Fiction &
The Pablo Neruda Prize for Poetry

Founded by Ruth G. Hardman

FIRST PLACE: $2,000 and publication
SECOND PLACE: $1,000 and publication

Contest Rules
Contest Begins: January 1, 2015

Postmark Deadline: April 30, 2015

Poetry: 3-10 pages of poetry (one long poem or several short poems).

Fiction: 7,500 words maximum (one short story or a self-contained excerpt from a novel)

No previously published works or works accepted for publication elsewhere. Author's name must not appear on the manuscript. Include a cover sheet containing major title and subtitles, author's name, full address, phone & email. Manuscripts should be stapled, if possible; if not, please bind with a heavy clip. “Contest Entry" should be clearly indicated on both the outer envelope and the cover sheet.

Include SASE for results only. If no SASE is sent, no contest results will be sent; however, the results will be posted on Nimrod’s website. Manuscripts will not be returned.

Submitters must be living in the US by October of 2015 to enter the contest.

Winners will also be brought to Tulsa for the Awards Ceremony in October. All finalists will be considered for publication.

Entry/Subscription Fee: Each entry must each be accompanied by a $20 fee. Make checks payable to Nimrod. $20 includes both entry fee & a one-year subscription (two issues).

Send to:

Nimrod Journal
Literary Contest--Fiction or Poetry
The University of Tulsa
800 S. Tucker Dr.
Tulsa, OK 74104

The 2014 Nimrod Literary Awards Results

The editors of Nimrod International Journal are delighted to announce the winners, honorable mentions, finalists and semi-finalists of the 36th Nimrod Literary Awards.

Nimrod Literary Awards: The Pablo Neruda Prize in Poetry

FIRST PRIZE: Mary-Alice Daniel, “Disease Map” and other poems

SECOND PRIZE: Christopher Buckley, “Reincarnation by the Sea” and other poems


Pam Bernard, “Lingua Franca” and other poems
Jude Nutter, “The Fields of The Somme, 2007” and other poems
Lex Runciman, “Events Are a Blunt Instrument”

Nimrod Literary Awards: The Katherine Anne Porter Prize in Fiction

FIRST PRIZE: Shobha Rao, “Kavitha and Mustafa”

SECOND PRIZE: Jill Logan, “Little House”

Nimrod extends deep appreciation to all who submitted. Selecting the poetry and fiction finalists was a task that dominated the lives of Nimrod’s editors all spring. They approached their mission with dedication and discretion, reading and rereading the final group, comparing notes, and speaking for favorites. The finalists’ manuscripts, without cover letters or names, were sent to the judges for 2014. W. S. Di Piero, the author ofTombo, served as poetry judge, and Chris Abani, author of Graceland, served as fiction judge. They chose the winners and honorable mentions from the finalist groups.

The 37th Nimrod Literary Awards competition begins January 1, 2015; the postmark deadline is April 30, 2015. We welcome your submissions, knowing that each year brings new discoveries, often from those who have submitted to the competition before.

More Info can be found here.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please feel free to leave a message.

Anthology Poetry Award

Entries are now invited for the Anthology Poetry Award. Established to recognise and encourage excellence in the craft of poetry writing a...