Friday 22 May 2015

The Galtellì Literary Prize : Deadline 20 June 2015 #Writing #Contest #competition

The Galtellì Literary Prize

Call for Submissions
The Galtellì Literary Prize

The village of Galtellì, Sardinia, is launching an international prose contest dedicated to the great Sardinian writer Grazia Deledda, winner of the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1926, who set her masterpiece Canne al Vento, or Reeds in the Wind, right in Galtellì.

The top five selected writers will be invited to Sardinia for workshops and lectures from 19 to 24 October 2015. The final winner will be announced during that week. Galtellì intends to publish a collection of the best pieces (the final structure of the book will depend on the writings received). Moreover, Galtellì plans to establish an ongoing ‘Autumn Appointment’ with writing retreats, conferences and award ceremony, of which the planned week in October 2015 will be the first.

Guidelines for submissions to 2015 ‘Celebrating Grazia Deledda – The Galtellì Literary Prize’

The novel selected to inspire and stimulate writers is Canne al Vento. Submissions should reflect or echo the issues that preoccupied Grazia Deledda’s writing, such as identity, class and religion.

The deadline for submissions is 20 June 2015.
The short list will be officially announced in August 2015.


1st place wins 1,000 euros, travel to (up to 1,000 euros) and accommodation in Sardinia and publication;

2nd, 3rd, 4th and 5th places win travel to (up to 1,000 euros) and accommodation in Sardinia and publication.

One unpublished submission per writer. The applicants must write a cover letter explaining why they believe their piece dovetails with Grazia Deledda’s work.

Maximum number of words per piece: 5,000

Genre: Fiction (the genre will be changed every year)

Language: English (unpublished works written in other languages but translated into English will also be considered), Italian and Sardinian

Setting up the international jury is in process and it will be announced as soon as possible.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please feel free to leave a message.

Anthology Poetry Award

Entries are now invited for the Anthology Poetry Award. Established to recognise and encourage excellence in the craft of poetry writing a...