Friday, 5 June 2015

Bard Fiction Prize #Writing #Competition #Contest

Bard Fiction Prize

Bard Fiction Prize Winners
Laura van den Berg, 2015
Bennett Sims, 2014
Brian Conn, 2013
Benjamin Hale, 2012
Karen Russell, 2011
Samantha Hunt, 2010
Fiona Maazel, 2009
Salvador Plascencia, 2008
Peter Orner, 2007
Edie Meidav, 2006
Paul La Farge, 2005
Monique Truong, 2004
Emily Barton, 2003
Nathan Englander, 2002

Contact the Bard Fiction PrizeAddress: Bard College,
PO Box 5000,
Annandale-on-Hudson, NY 12504
Phone: 845-758-7087

Bard Fiction Prize

What Is the Bard Fiction Prize?The Bard Fiction Prize is awarded to a promising, emerging writer who is an American citizen aged 39 years or younger at the time of application. In addition to the monetary award, the winner receives an appointment as writer in residence at Bard College for one semester, without the expectation that he or she teach traditional courses. The recipient gives at least one public lecture and meets informally with students.

2015 Bard Fiction Prize Recipient:
Laura van den Berg

About the Bard Fiction PrizeThe creation of the Bard Fiction Prize, presented each October, continues Bard’s long-standing position as a center for creative, groundbreaking literary work by both faculty and students. From Saul Bellow, William Gaddis, Mary McCarthy, and Ralph Ellison to John Ashbery, Philip Roth, William Weaver, and Chinua Achebe, Bard’s literature faculty, past and present, represents some of the most important writers of our time. The prize is intended to encourage and support young writers of fiction to pursue their creative goals and provide an opportunity to work in a fertile and intellectual environment. Last year’s Bard Fiction Prize was awarded to Bennett Sims for his debut novel, A Questionable Shape (Two Dollar Radio, 2013).

Bard Invites Submissions for Its Annual Fiction Prize for Young WritersTo apply, candidates should write a cover letter explaining the project they plan to work on while at Bard and submit a C.V., along with three copies of the published book they feel best represents their work. No manuscripts will be accepted. Applications for the 2016 prize must be received by June 15, 2015. For more information about the Bard Fiction Prize, call 845-758-7087 or send an e-mail to Applicants may also request information by writing to the Bard Fiction Prize, Bard College, Annandale-on-Hudson, NY 12504-5000.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please feel free to leave a message.

Anthology Poetry Award

Entries are now invited for the Anthology Poetry Award. Established to recognise and encourage excellence in the craft of poetry writing a...