Saturday, 5 September 2015

Sarton Women's Literary Award #writing #contest

Sarton Women's Literary Awards

The Sarton Women's Literary Awards™ are sponsored by the Story Circle Network, an international nonprofit association of women writers. Awards are presented annually in three categories:
Women's memoir
Women's contemporary fiction
Women's historical fictionThe award program is named in honor of May Sarton, who is remembered for her outstanding contributions to women's literature as a memoirist, novelist, and poet.

The awards are given annually to North American women authors of memoir and fiction published in the United States and Canada and selected from works submitted. The awards are limited to submissions from small/independent publishers, university presses, and author-publishers (self-publishing authors). The judging is conducted in two rounds. Professional librarians not affiliated with SCN select the winner and finalists.

Winners and finalists are announced via social media, on the Story Circle Network websites, and to SCN's extensive email list. Current and previous years' winners are invited to attend and be honored at Stories from the Heart, the biannual SCN National Conference. Winners also receive a cash prize of $200 and a commemorative trophy, as well as free advertising on SCN's websites and e-letters, and more. Finalists receive a cash prize, a personalized award, and the advertising package.

Guidelines for 2015 Entry Deadline: November 15, 2015

Works by women authors published during January 1, 2014 - December 31, 2015 in the United States and Canada are eligible.

The book must have an ISBN; go here to read more or obtain an ISBN.

Works published by major publishers are not eligible. If you need a ruling on this, please contact us.

Works published as e-books only are not eligible.

Memoirs by women authors written in collaboration are eligible if both authors experienced the events described in the narrative (for example, a mother/daughter collaboration about their lives together). Ghostwritten memoirs (memoirs written by or with anyone other than the person or persons who experienced the events therein) are NOT eligible.

Anyone (author, publisher, publicist, SCN member, non-SCN member, other) may submit one or more eligible works.

The work must be submitted in its final, reader-ready form. Advance Reading Copies (ARCs) are acceptable only if the book is planned for December 2015 publication and bound reader-ready books will not be available to meet the November 15 deadline.

The entry submission package consists of the application form, the entry fee, and three bound, reader-ready copies of the work. Loose manuscript pages or three-ring binders are NOT acceptable and will neither be acknowledged nor returned.

Optional Author Feedback Package available (individual title report, including evaluators' scores, comments, and final status report)

The application must be completed, payment received, and books postmarked no later than November 15, 2015. If any part of the package is missing by this date, the submission is incomplete and ineligible for the current year's contest. However, books that are received after the deadline may be held for the following year's competition.

The entry fee for an incomplete submission will not be returned. Incomplete submission packages will not be returned.

If you would like to check out our rubrics (the scoring guides our jurors and judges will use to determine the winner), go here.

Questions? Contact us via email: sartonprize at or phone: 970-235-1477 or mail:Story Circle Network, PO Box 1670, Estes Park CO 80517-1670

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please feel free to leave a message.

Anthology Poetry Award

Entries are now invited for the Anthology Poetry Award. Established to recognise and encourage excellence in the craft of poetry writing a...