Sunday 20 December 2015

2016 BRISTOL SHORT STORY PRIZE NOW OPEN #Writing #contest #Competition


We are very excited to announce that the 2016 Bristol Short Story Prize is open!

The closing date for entries is 30th April 2016. Stories can be on any theme or subject and entry can be made online via the website or by post. Entries must be previously unpublished with a maximum length of 4,000 words. There is no minimum length. There is an entry fee of £8 per story.

20 stories will be shortlisted for the first prize and published in the Bristol Short Story Prize Anthology Volume 9.

1st Prize is £1,000, 2nd Prize £700, 3rd Prize £400. 17 further prizes of £100 will be presented to the writers whose stories appear on the shortlist.
The winners will be announced at the 2016 Bristol Short Story Prize Awards Ceremony in October 2016. The Bristol Short Story Prize Anthology Volume 9 will also be launched at the event.

We have a fantastic judging panel for this year’s competition, chaired by celebrated writer and short story champion, Tania Hershman. Tania is joined on the panel by acclaimed writer Niven Govinden, Simon Key, owner of the award-winning Big Green Bookshop in London, and Juliet Pickering, literary agent at Blake Friedmann.

For full details please visit our Rules page.

The recently announced 2015 Bristol Short Story Prize winner is Canadian writer, Brent van Staalduinen for his brilliant story A Week on the Water. 2nd prize was won byJ.R.McConvey, also from Canada, for Between the Pickles. Australian writer,Magdalena McGuire won 3rd prize for her storyBirthday Bones.

We have interviewed Brent about his win and his writing, here.

The Bristol Short Story Prize Anthology Volume 8, featuring the 3 winning stories plus the 17 other shortlisted stories from our 2015 competition is available from a number of online destinations and some bookshops. If your favourite bookshop doesn’t have it, they will be able to order it for you.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please feel free to leave a message.

Anthology Poetry Award

Entries are now invited for the Anthology Poetry Award. Established to recognise and encourage excellence in the craft of poetry writing a...