Sunday, 24 January 2016

Cúirt New Writing Prize 2016 #writing #contests

The Cúirt New Writing Prize, in memory of Lena Maguire, is now open for submissions. The categories are poetry and fiction. There is a €500 cash prize for the winner of each category and the opportunity to read at the Cúirt/Over the Edge Showcase event at Cúirt 2016. This year’s judges are poet Elaine Feeney and the Stinging Fly’s Declan Meade.
Young Cúirt

The youth strand of the prize was introduced in 2014. Young Cúirt is for ages 12-17 and submissions are welcome in fiction or poetry. The winner will receive €100 cash prize and will read at the Cúirt Labs in April.

Submission Guidelines

**Guidelines apply to both adult and youth submissions.

The guidelines for both adult and youth submissions are as follows: Poetry entries must consist of 3 poems under 50 lines each, and fiction pieces may be up to 2000 words. Entries in both English and Irish are welcome.

Writers submitting work should not have had a collection published in the category in which they enter. This does not include the publication of single poems, stories or chapbooks. In addition to your work we ask that you include the following contact details: Name, email address, phone number. You may include a short biography of yourself if you wish.

The entry fee for each submission is €10, this can be paid via the Paypal button on this page. When emailing submissions, please include the unique transaction ID and the account owner’s name. In addition, please specify which category you are submitting to in the subject line of your email.

Entries must be sent via email to:

A €10 entry fee applies for each separate entry which can be paid via the Paypal button below. Please include the Paypal unique transaction ID and the account owner’s name with your emailed submission.

The closing date for submissions is Thursday 28 January 2016 at 5pm. The deadline is final.

More Information Here.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please feel free to leave a message.

Anthology Poetry Award

Entries are now invited for the Anthology Poetry Award. Established to recognise and encourage excellence in the craft of poetry writing a...