Sunday, 24 January 2016

The Hope Prize short story competition #writing #contest

A new national short story competition

In establishing The Hope Prize – a new national short story competition – we want to encourage Australian writers to tackle a subject that is all too often hidden from public view or reduced to cliches.

The short story entered can be fiction or fact. Whatever the genre, the story submitted must convey the experience of people facing hardship in their lives.

We decided to name the competition The Hope Prize because we want to encourage writing that transcend stereotypes of 'the poor': we want to see perceptive prose and nuanced storytelling that reflects the resilience we know that people show in the face of poverty and testing times.

Thanks to the generosity of the late Prudence Myer and the support of her family, the winners will receive cash prizes:
first prize of $5000
second prize of $3000
third prize of $2000
highly commended stories will each receive $500
an award of $500 will also be made to an emerging writer under 18.

The deadline for entry is 31 January, 2016.

Stories submitted must be between 2000 and 5000 words.

How to enter

Please read the competition guidelines, and how to enter »

The judges: Cate Blanchett, Kate Grenville and Quentin Bryce

Three leading Australians, actor Cate Blanchett, author Kate Grenville, and the former Governor General Quentin Bryce, will judge the Brotherhood of St Laurence The Hope Prize.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please feel free to leave a message.

Anthology Poetry Award

Entries are now invited for the Anthology Poetry Award. Established to recognise and encourage excellence in the craft of poetry writing a...