Tuesday 16 February 2016

2015 RBC Bronwen Wallace Award for Emerging Writers #seanocarolan.com #writing #contest #competition

Prize Guidelines

Established in memory of writer Bronwen Wallace, this award alternates each year between short fiction and poetry. The 2016 prize will be given for an outstanding work of short fiction. Bronwen Wallace felt that writers should have more opportunities for greater recognition early in their careers, and so this annual award is given to a writer below the age of 35 who has published poetry or prose in literary magazines, journals, or anthologies, but has not yet been published in book form.

A prize of $5,000 will be awarded to the best work of poetry.
Two honourable mentions will each receive $1,000.

To be eligible, candidates must be:

A Canadian citizen or permanent resident
Under the age of 35 as of March 7, 2016.
Previously published in an independently edited magazine or anthology
Unpublished in book form and without a book contract

Candidates should submit 5-10 pages (up to 2,500 words) of previously unpublished short fiction. Manuscript pages must not include identifying information and should be consecutively numbered.

By submitting to this award, candidates grant the Writers’ Trust of Canada permission to publish their work in print and digital formats should they be shortlisted. All rights reserved by the authors.

Three finalists will be announced in May.
The prize winner will be revealed at a ceremony in Toronto on June 8.


For more information please contact:
Amanda Hopkins, Program Manager
416-504-8222 x 242

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please feel free to leave a message.

Anthology Poetry Award

Entries are now invited for the Anthology Poetry Award. Established to recognise and encourage excellence in the craft of poetry writing a...