Wednesday, 3 February 2016

International Poetry Competition Theme: The Vision of 1916: Yesterday, Today and Tomorrow

We are now delighted to announce that the competition was launched in Buswells Hotel, Dublin on Tuesday 15 December at a press conference and photo shoot hosted by the President of Reclaim 1916, Robert Ballagh.

Present for the occasion was the panel of judges:
Catherine Ann Cullen, Ciaran Carty and Louis de Paor

Original submissions (not more than 40 lines) are now be invited from persons over the age of sixteen, living at home or abroad, and should not have been previously published, including on social media. A maximum of three poems may be submitted per applicant. In line with the competition theme and the inclusive nature of RV1916’s broader initiative, entries can be submitted in English, Irish, or any of the languages in common use in Ireland today (with either English or Irish translations).

Professor Michael Cronin will act as the competition’s Languages’ Advisor for poems that have been received in languages other than English and Irish.

The entry fee is €10 for one poem, and €5 each for a second and third entry in the same submission. We will shortly install an online pay and submit facility. We will be advertising the competition nationally and internationally to:
Members of poetry and writing groups, at home and abroad
Leaving Certificate scholars
Universities: all the humanities departments in Ireland, Irish studies departments in Britain, US, etc.
The Diaspora (present and offspring of ‘lost’ generations) in Britain and through Irish- America, Britain, Australia, New Zealand, etc.
“The world’s yer oyster!”
First: Reclaim 1916 Thomas MacDonagh medallion (designed by Robert Ballagh), plus €1,000

Second: €500
Third: €250
Closing date: 29 February 2016

The winning poems and the authors’ names will be announced on or around the 100th anniversary of the Rising on 24 April 2016.

How to enter

Entry form

Competition rules

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please feel free to leave a message.

Anthology Poetry Award

Entries are now invited for the Anthology Poetry Award. Established to recognise and encourage excellence in the craft of poetry writing a...